RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Reply

Old 02-13-2003, 04:36 PM
  #1  
tknobby
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

How many other folks are having trouble getting in contact with Karlton? I have sent 2 emails 3 days apart and called numerous times but have yet to receive an email replay or talk to anyone on the phone. I am waiting for my Profi 4000 transmitter. And waiting, and waiting...

Tom...
tknobby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 04:45 PM
  #2  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

I know from the Club4000 list that he has just got back from being away somewhere, maybe he is still trying to catch up on comms received.

Harry
HarryC is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 05:10 PM
  #3  
MikeMayberry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Try this # (858)-748-1045

Mike
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 05:13 PM
  #4  
tknobby
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default feeling somewhat relieved

Thanks to both Harry and Mike. I'll try to call this afternoon if an email is not forth coming.

Tom...
tknobby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 05:49 PM
  #5  
MTT
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
MTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: West Chester, OH
Posts: 566
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

I ordered a chrystal last week over the phone, got it a couple of days later, so obviously they are still in business.
I suppose that Karlton was really tied up witht the business of Hitec taking over Multiplex.

Michael
MTT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 08:13 PM
  #6  
AJF--2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default YOU TOO?????

You don't want to crank me up on this subject. I ordered a 3030 in November--($630 charged to my CC for upgrades on the INT set) -- Been waiting patiently ever since. I call every week and get a different story from Karlton every week. I stopped getting a response to emails weeks ago. Karlton was in Germany last week till Wednesday working out some details. Last Fridays story was that there was a cistoms proplem and they would be here Monday or Tuesday and would be shipped overnite and I would get it Wednesday or Thursday. Well it is now Thursday at 3:15PM and still not here. Am I suprised????? I have been hearing the same "next week story" since December.
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 12:57 AM
  #7  
shoe-RCU
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: slo, CA,
Posts: 42
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

I ordered my radio in late Nov (or was it early Dec?... it's been so long I can't remember) and I've been getting the "hopefully next week" story over and over and over....

if you hear anything solid please post it here.
shoe-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 01:19 AM
  #8  
ChristianH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Multiplex

I can tell you all what is going on.

I ordered a 3030 on Nov 25 and I never got it.
Hitec has bought Multiplex and they will not honor any orders placed during that time. This is info from Karlton.
I cancelled my order after waiting for 2 months and I actually had to file a claim through my bank to get my money back.

According to the german Multiplex site there will be no radios until end of March.
I got fed up and ordered a Futaba 9CAP.

LOL! Problem now is that I get shafted on expensive RF modules instead.
ChristianH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 04:02 AM
  #9  
tknobby
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Next step

If ChristianH is correct, the next step for me is to have Karlton refund the $ back for the Profi 4000.

The rear kicker is I still want one.

I wonder if I should wait till the end of March, look to another dealer, say, outside the country, buy a good used one...???

What a goofy situation.



Tom signing off...

for now
tknobby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 04:08 AM
  #10  
ChristianH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

That is entierly up to you but that is what I did.
2+ months for a radio that might not ever show up was just to much for me.

I got the feeling Karlton did his best to help out but Multiplex would just not stand by their products in this case.
ChristianH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 08:23 AM
  #11  
rorywquin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: BrisbaneQLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 822
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Why don't you try www.hoellein.com in Germany - I think they supply USA frequency MPX equipment - give Stefan a call - he is a really helpful guy and speaks English!
rorywquin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 10:14 AM
  #12  
DavidO
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lancs, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

This one may also be worth a try.

http://www.modelspot.com/mpx/mpxusa.htm

Could be the door has been shut on Karlton !
DavidO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 03:01 PM
  #13  
AJF 2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 258
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

I see the European radios are offered in 35MH or 40MH--how does that work here in the USA?
AJF 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 04:52 PM
  #14  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Just make sure you can order with a 72mhz module. Our shops won't be expecting to sell to US customers so won't normally stock or advertise 72Mhz sets. Don't know if Mpx will supply 72Mhz modules to euro shops though, in order to protect the official US importers.

Harry
HarryC is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2003, 05:56 PM
  #15  
DavidO
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lancs, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 108
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

They can supply, although it has to be ordered specially along with 72Mhz or 50Mhz module.
DavidO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 02:22 AM
  #16  
AJF--2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Well I called and cancelled my order--I sure did hate to do that!!!! I still want my radio. I suppose I will just wait until the new guard gets in place.
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 08:27 AM
  #17  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Originally posted by DavidO
This one may also be worth a try.

http://www.modelspot.com/mpx/mpxusa.htm

Could be the door has been shut on Karlton !
I know that model shop, it is in Leicester about 60 miles from me. It is a long established shop, has been a private importer of Mpx for years and years, and is a reputable place to do business with. You could get an Mpx at UK prices, look at the price in then multiply by 100/117.5 to deduct the UK purchase tax which you won't pay on exported sales. Go to modelspot.com for their main page.

Harry
HarryC is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 06:14 PM
  #18  
AJF--2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Thanks Harry-- I have already been exchanging emails with Gordon for a few days--Looks like I will be upgrading to an EVO for less money. He is going to contact the MPX rep when he visits Wednesday about getting me set up on 72mhz.
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 07:27 PM
  #19  
visioneer_one
My Feedback: (506)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: St. Thomas, VIRGIN ISLANDS (USA)
Posts: 2,428
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Originally posted by HarryC
Just make sure you can order with a 72mhz module. Our shops won't be expecting to sell to US customers so won't normally stock or advertise 72Mhz sets. Don't know if Mpx will supply 72Mhz modules to euro shops though, in order to protect the official US importers.

Harry
From their page:
"You may now know of the purchase of Multiplex by Hitec. Previously we did not supply customers in the USA and Canada directly from here in the UK out of respect for Karlton Spindle at Multiplex USA, we directed all business from the USA to him.

However, we have been told by Multiplex that we are now free to supply you direct in the USA, so what are you waiting for?!

Regards!

Gordon Upton"

I came > < this close to ordering an Evo-9, but decided to cancel my order and wait until some modelers reported on them. I'm still waiting...
visioneer_one is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 10:25 PM
  #20  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Originally posted by visioneer_one
I came > < this close to ordering an Evo-9, but decided to cancel my order and wait until some modelers reported on them. I'm still waiting...
Take a look at RCgroups.com, there have been a few threads from RE users. Including my question and responses to the problem outlined below, which provided a big insight into the mixing architecture and how it differs fundamentally from the Profi 3030 and 4000.

What do you want to know about the RE9? A friend of mine with a Futaba 9C wants to do a proper quad wing Stik. He tells me that the Futaba 9C will not do it properly, despite him following the instructions on the Futaba FAQ website. He says it runs out of mixers before you can do all the things he wants to do - full span ailerons, full span flaperons, flaps, crow and ele-flap, and he wants it all on one 3-position switch too. The RE can do it, so he bought one today and I hope to get my hands on it tomorrow for a play with it. If you can post any specific questions before Sunday morning GMT, I will try to find the answer. My flying club is beginning to look like a Multiplex club now, in fact the Sunday morning crowd is more Multiplex Tx than all the others added together.

Today I have been out test flying my new Hirobo Stream Hi Perf using some of the fab programming available in my 4000. The 4000 is still Muttley's nuts, the RE can't touch it. Things like 3D rates switched on and off by the rudder position, expo on up ele but switched off as soon as down ele put in. RE is good, but remember it is a 3030 equivalent. Even if the 4000 was just 8 channels I would not swap it for a 12 channel RE with synth!

Harry
HarryC is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2003, 03:43 AM
  #21  
tknobby
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Made contact

I talked with Karlton on Friday nite - he enlightened me on the radio situation. I am giving him the benefit of the doubt and waiting a little longer. My CC has already been charged so a wait is easier than contacting the CC company.

I'll post a note when more info is available.

BTW, I emailed Gordon Upton on Friday but up till now no reply.

Tom...
tknobby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2003, 03:59 AM
  #22  
MikeMayberry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

This should shed some light on the subject http://www.hitecrcd.com/MPX_PR.htm

Mike Mayberry
Hitec/Multiplex
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2003, 02:15 PM
  #23  
tknobby
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Thanks...

Mike, thanks for the page link. I had figured the transition was going to move along those lines. That # is the one I called on to talk to Karlton.

I'll post when new info is available on my situation.

Tom...
tknobby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2003, 01:55 PM
  #24  
tknobby
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Update info

Just a quick update...

Talked to Karlton yesterday. He said he received email confirmation from Multiplex that his radio order has been shipped via FedEx but he has yet to receive a tracking number.

I will try to call again this afternoon for another update.

Hopefully I will have good news.

Tom...
tknobby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2003, 03:56 PM
  #25  
AJF 2
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 258
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Unable to contact Multiplex/Karlton

Please keep us informed-- I got the same email saying he had a tracking number----that was over a month ago. (in other words, don't bet on it!) I cancelled my order. When I hear you got yours, I may re-order.
AJF 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service