RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba servo problem?

Reply

Old 02-14-2003, 11:51 PM
  #1  
Ground Zero-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 158
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba servo problem?

I was setting up the trows on my new Cap when I noticed that one of the new 9202's on the elevator seems to 'chatter' during its movement and has a problem centering and hitting its end points accurately. Not every time but very frequently. There is no binding of the surface and the other elevator servo is working flawlessly. I will replace it tomorrow with another servo, before I fly it, but I was wondering what would cause this behavior?

Thanks,

Mike
Ground Zero-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 12:58 AM
  #2  
JohnW
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
JohnW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 1,815
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba servo problem?

Could be one of several things, bad pot, bad amp, bad wiring connection to servo motor. Best thing to do is send it in for repair.
JohnW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 01:57 AM
  #3  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba servo problem?

I have this same problem on one of my planes. It doesn't seem to bother the flying or handling. It is stiff but does oscillate some.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 05:26 PM
  #4  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba servo problem?

Double check the connections on the extensions. You are using at least 22 gauge wire on them aren't you? Any high resistance due to to small a gauge wire or cheap connectors can cause this symtom.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 05:52 PM
  #5  
outssider
Senior Member
My Feedback: (23)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location:
Posts: 1,192
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba servo problem?

are you using two different channels and using coupling?
outssider is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 07:39 PM
  #6  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba servo problem?

I use 22 gage wires on my connection and have swapped channel 1 and 6 and it problems stayed with the servo. The only connection that was not eliminated was the one on the servo lead.

On my new plane, I just repaired a similar connection with my new Carden and found that the brass pin was clinched to the insulation and not the wire. It gave me a very intermittent connection.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service