RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Which mode???

Reply

Old 02-15-2003, 06:09 PM
  #1  
JOHNBONE
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Armed Forces Europe
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which mode???

Well my friend (German) is a very good pilot and he taught me how to fly. Anyway as time passed I went and learned how to fly in Mode 2. Anyway my friend wants to fly my Extra 300 and I try to set up the radio for him but cant seem to do it. He flies as such...

Left Stick Horizontal (Ailerons)
Left Stick Vertical (Throttle)
Right Stick Horizontal (Rudder)
Right Stick Vertical (Elevation)

I fly....

Left Stick Horizontal (Rudder)
Left Stick Vertical (Throttle)
Right Stick Horizontal (Ailerons)
Right Stick Vertical (Elevation)

I use a Futaba9C and a Futaba 8 Channel Receiver but cant seem to set it up for him. Guess it will never happen.
JOHNBONE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 06:56 PM
  #2  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which mode???

Your friend is used to MODE 3 flying.

quoted from http://www.flyingsites.co.uk/newcome.../radiomode.htm
Mode 3
This control stick configuration has the rudder and elevator being controlled by the right stick while the left stick controls the ailerons (roll) and throttle.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 06:57 PM
  #3  
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)
 
JWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 6,896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which mode???

Plug your aileron servo into the rudder jack on your receiver and the rudder servo into the aileron jack. Next, swap all of your throw and mix adjustments from the rudder to the aileron and vice versa on the TX. Last, make sure the control surfaces move in the correct direction.

John
JWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 06:57 PM
  #4  
Tippie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Private, GA
Posts: 298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which mode???

Maybe I'm missing something here but the only difference I see between the two is the aileron and rudder functions are on different sticks. What's wrong with swapping the servo plugs (machs neich). Plug in the aileron where the rudder was plugged in and plug the rudder servo into the previous aileron slot. The difference between mode 1 and mode 2 is the detenting/non centering action of the stick (throttle). Mode 1, throttle on the right stick, Mode 2, throttle on the left stick. You can plug the servos into whereever it makes you happy. You fly what most US sport flyers use.
Tippie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 07:29 PM
  #5  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which mode???

If you're flying a simple 4 channel plane, you can swap servo connectors on the receiver, but if you have extensive programming setup for the plane with mixing and coupling, that won't work.

I think JOHNBONE is hoping to switch modes without having to totally reprogram the transmitter.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2003, 07:55 PM
  #6  
JOHNBONE
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Armed Forces Europe
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which mode???

I get it set up pretty close..

Left Stick Horizontal (Ailerons)
Left Stick Vertical (Throttle)
Right Stick Horizontal (Rudder)
Right Stick Vertical (Elevation)

The problem is when I work the elevation (Right Stick) the Ailerons work with the Elevation. And I cannot disable it. I keep trying but changing the mixes is not doing anything.
JOHNBONE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 06:30 AM
  #7  
JWN
Community Moderators
My Feedback: (42)
 
JWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 6,896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which mode???

Sounds like you have elevon mixing enabled.

John
JWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:24 PM
  #8  
jetranger-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Perham, ME
Posts: 602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio

Back up here a minute I fly the mode your friend does it's easy to set up takes ten seconds. Here's how I have a 9c also--with TX turned off press the mode key and end key at the same time while still pressing turn on TX let go up comes mode and reverse menu there is mode 1 2 3 4 find which one will set up stick the way you want I think it is mode 3 or 4 thats all and nothing will be changed
jetranger-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:43 PM
  #9  
jetranger-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Perham, ME
Posts: 602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio

Back up here a minute I fly the mode your friend does it's easy to set up takes ten seconds. Here's how I have a 9c also--with TX turned off press the mode key and end key at the same time while still pressing turn on TX let go up comes mode and reverse menu there is mode 1 2 3 4 find which one will set up stick the way you want I think it is mode 3 or 4 thats all and nothing will be changed
jetranger-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:46 PM
  #10  
JOHNBONE
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Armed Forces Europe
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which mode???

Oh my god! If that works I will poop in my pants...I need to go try it now. I will let you know!
JOHNBONE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:59 PM
  #11  
jetranger-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Perham, ME
Posts: 602
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default mode four

Johnbone I checked my TX you want mode 4 did you find it?
jetranger-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 05:38 PM
  #12  
JOHNBONE
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Armed Forces Europe
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which mode???

jetranger, YOU ARE THE SMARTEST, GREATEST, BESTEST!!!! It worked!!! Guess I have to clean my pants now. A million thanks.
JOHNBONE is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service