RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Using two Batteries with a single receiver

Reply

Old 02-16-2003, 03:45 AM
  #1  
pequeajim
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Holland, PA
Posts: 747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

I am looking for tips for setting up a two battery system with a single receiver?

I have a 9 channel futaba receiver. Each battery will run through a regulator with an output of 5.8 volts.

DO I plug the 2nd battery into the other open channel?

Jim!
pequeajim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:14 AM
  #2  
theox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N.Chicago, IL
Posts: 275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

You could do it that way or you could plug both batteries into a 'y'

harness and plug that in.
theox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:22 AM
  #3  
William Robison
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mary Esther, Florida, FL
Posts: 20,205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

Pequeajim:

Yes. Plug the second switch lead into an unused channel.

You also could do as the Ox suggested, but that, using a Y-connector, would remove some of the redundancy you are looking for.

That's an assumption, sorry. If you are just looking for higher capacity, you can get 1100 mah AA cells, and not have to bother with dual batteries and switches.

Engines twinned, and batteries too,
. Redundancy doubled for you.

Bill.
William Robison is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:28 AM
  #4  
pequeajim
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Holland, PA
Posts: 747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

I'm looking at a Futaba 149Dp receiver. I need eight channels and am not sure if the receiver is setupwith channel9/battery, or a free channel 9 and battery separate. I have to check that out before I buy one.

I think the redundancy is a good thing and would be the way to go.

When you use a Y, are you getting more current, voltage, or what? Since the circuit is in parallel, it's more current capacity? This will not damage the receiver will it? Is using a Y just like plugging into two channels?

Jim!
pequeajim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:45 AM
  #5  
William Robison
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mary Esther, Florida, FL
Posts: 20,205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

Pequeajim:

If you end up having to use a "Y," use it for one of the servos and the battery, don't "Y" the two batteries together.

Parallel batteries add current capacity, voltage stays the same.

If memory serves, the 149DP has a separate lead coming out of the case for the normal battery feed, if you are using eight channels only, then plug the second switch/regulator into channel nine.

When I have to "Y" a second battery, my channel of choice is #3, the throttle. And be sure to use a "Y" with 22ga wire, for the current capability.

With 27 amp hour batteries I've found,
. Plane's too heavy, wont get off the ground.

Bill.
William Robison is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 02:54 PM
  #6  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

We have a diagram that was sent to me in our tips section.
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 03:59 PM
  #7  
pequeajim
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Holland, PA
Posts: 747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Where??

I looked in the tips secion and could not find it. Can you tell me specifically where it is?

Thanks
Jim!
pequeajim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 03:59 PM
  #8  
flyinrazrback
Senior Member
My Feedback: (69)
 
flyinrazrback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 3,778
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

with the 149DP, you run one switch and battery to the battery port, and the other battery and switch to ch 9, works for me
flyinrazrback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:06 PM
  #9  
pequeajim
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Holland, PA
Posts: 747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

I was a little aprehensive before buying it cause it looked like the picture shows channel9/battery, and then there is some other connection for something that I can't make out what it is?

The channel configuration looks like this

1
2
3
4
5

6
7
8
9/B
???

Jim!
pequeajim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 04:46 PM
  #10  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

http://www.geistware.com/rcmodeling/..._batteries.htm
It is under the general tips section
I hope this helps!
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 05:20 PM
  #11  
pequeajim
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New Holland, PA
Posts: 747
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

I found out what the other port on the 149DP is DSC> Can this also be used as a battery input port?
pequeajim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 05:56 PM
  #12  
flyinrazrback
Senior Member
My Feedback: (69)
 
flyinrazrback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 3,778
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

on the 149DP DSC is the battery port, ch9/batt means it can be used for ch 9 or the battery, or whichever you choose to run on that channel. On most futaba recievers, you can run the battery to any port that is unused. but I prefer to run mine like previoulsly mentioned. I plug my regulators into the receiver into dsc and channel 9, and then the switches into the regulators.
flyinrazrback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2003, 09:05 PM
  #13  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using two Batteries with a single receiver

I know what DSC does but do you have to remove your module or power on the transmitter?
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service