RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba J plugs and wire

Reply

Old 02-22-2003, 05:47 AM
  #1  
xlr82v2
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
xlr82v2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ellis Grove, IL
Posts: 376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba J plugs and wire

Does anyone know where you can get bulk Futaba J plugs and wire, and I'm assuming, a crimp tool also?

I have a lot of old servos that still work well that I would like to convert over so that they can be used with the FM systems, and it would be nice to be able to make up my own custom extensions too.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!
xlr82v2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2003, 02:06 PM
  #2  
Vince
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nederland, Tx.
Posts: 1,642
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba J plugs and wire

There are several sources for connectors, crimp tools, and wire.I have tried them all at one time or another. The ones that I find most closely match OEM connectors are availiable at Radical R/C.

http://members.aol.com/davthacker/radicalrcindex.htm

Beware of others connectors, as some will not fit the Futaba charging jack.

Vince
Vince is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2003, 03:57 PM
  #3  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba J plugs and wire

Like Vince said Radical RC.
www.radicalrc.com
Geistware is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2003, 11:54 PM
  #4  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba J plugs and wire

If the servos you plan to convert were used on older AM systems, they may have been designed for a 1.3ms center instead of the now common 1.5ms center pulse.

I have seen once where a servo which had it's plug converted would act normally until requested to move to the extreme associated with the longest position-pulse. It would then move to the opposite extreme. In this case, it was used for a throttle servo. It worked fine untill full throttle was requested... Instead it closed the carb completely. Imagine if that were on the elevator: "Gently upply up elevator till it takes off..." then when you give it full up elevator it dives instead.

I would go ahead with the conversion, but test them thoroughly! If you radio has adjustable travel rates, turn them to maximum for testing.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 02:22 AM
  #5  
xlr82v2
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
xlr82v2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ellis Grove, IL
Posts: 376
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Thanks!

The servos I have are all Futaba's, either S28's or S48's. I guess the oldest of them would be probably 1984 vintage or so...

I tested all of them with the old radios, and they still work well...

Thanks for the head's up about the centering!!
xlr82v2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 02:32 AM
  #6  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba J plugs and wire

It happened to one of my flying buddies with an older Airtronics servo (unknown model #), but it can probably happen with other servos as well.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service