Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Old-school newbie here......

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2003, 03:23 AM
warthog44

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Old-school newbie here......

Our whole group quit cold-turkey about 13 years ago and we are just now getting back in. I am amazed at the progress in engines and ARF's over the last decade, and the prices are great.

Question is, I can't understand what the big deal is about having a programmable radio other than the option of doing flaperons. Yeah, I know you can set end points and do mixing and all of that stuff but what is the big deal? You can do that mechanically if you work at it a little. Like I said, flaperons sound really cool but why should I chuck up the extra bucks for the other stuff.

Keep in mind that I really want one and that I just need a little coaxing to convince myself.

Also.... what is a good lower end programmable to get my feet wet with.
Old 02-26-2003, 03:32 AM
rjbarthel-RCU

the HITEC FLASH 5 is good or JR has a good low end thransmiter also .
Old 02-26-2003, 03:59 AM
warthog44

Default Wow.....

Great price. $172 in Tower Hobbies. It this still the best place to buy?
Old 02-26-2003, 07:01 AM
strato911

It could all be done manually, even flaperons (with manual mixing trays). It's MUCH easier though with a computer radio. After all, this hobby is supposed to be fun.

Also, computer radios have a memory, allowing you to use one transmitter for multiple planes, or you can try multiple different setups for each plane (different throw rates, mix rates, channel coupling, etc...). This reduces the cost somewhat, and allows you to become more consistant, since the radio never changes.
Old 02-26-2003, 03:06 PM
blvdbuzzard

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts