Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

ESC Wiring ... Seems Small to me

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2007, 08:39 PM
djdiverdon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ESC Wiring ... Seems Small to me

Hello , I have a question about an ESC . I will try to make it short . I am a newbie and have started this post on another page but it sorta got off subject ... Started as a Prop size question and led to this . So I thought I should post it here where it is more fitting ..

I have a trainer and have crashed it . While I am fixing the damage I decided to "Hop Up" the motor .. Bought a bigger motor and was advised that I might need a new ESC to power it .. So I got it and bought 1 that was supposto be plenty big enough (I needed 10 maybe 15 amps and got a 40 to be sure ..

Ok ... Now the Question ... When I got the ESC I was sorta shocked .. The wiring that goes with it seem really small ... Like 18 guage to power the motor and 16 to go to the motor ... I am pretty good with wire sizes . I could be off by 1 size .They might each be 1 size larger than I said ..But Still .. They are small . To supply 40 amps ???

The ESC is a Esky EM 140 A .. I will try to post a picture of it .. Can someone Please give me the scoop on this???

I got the new one for 1 reason because I assumed that the 1 the plane came with was the cheapest one they could get . I tried to get some specs off it but could not find any . Even took the shrink tubing off to look close .. And the thing is the wiring on this original one is bigger .. That sorta confuses me that the wiring on thoriginal one which only needs to pull 10 amps MAX is bigger ..

Sorry this got to long .. Can someone please give me the scoop on these ESC's ?? Are they supposto have this small of wiring??