RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

4 Hitec HS645MG, and 3 Futaba S9151, would you use upgrade powerbox?

Reply

Old 06-03-2007, 07:05 PM
  #1  
Magna
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Malaysia, MALAYSIA
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 4 Hitec HS645MG, and 3 Futaba S9151, would you use upgrade powerbox?

Hi all

As I'm venturing into bigger plane as I just got hold of DPM Extra 300, this is my setup.

3 Futaba 9151 on Elevator and Rudder. 4 Hitec HS645MG on the Wing.

I planned to use the Sanyo HR2400 cell. Not subc size but those industrial flat top type.

Usually I'm more worry on the power supply wire rather than the battery. I can go to Subc is needed but what about those switches and wires? I have both JR HD and Hitec HD switches as well as Electric Dynamo double pole switch.

What about the usual 22/24 AWG wires from the battery to the RX? When I check with the onboard voltmeter on 5cell, it drop to red zone when I wiggle all servo. But if I set the voltmeter to 4cell, it stay full green even if I wiggle all servo. So this indicate the volts did not drop to below 4.8volts.

Do I need to use power supply box as it get expensive and complicated?

Also I don't do agrresive flying and I'm powering the plane with a 45cc Venom.
Magna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 11:49 PM
  #2  
XJet
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tokoroa, , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 3,848
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4 Hitec HS645MG, and 3 Futaba S9151, would you use upgrade powerbox?

I've got a 90" Extra 330L with 3x HS5955TG (tail feathers -- overkill I know), 2 x HS425s (throttle & choke) and 4 x HS645 (ailerons).

I'm feeding this setup using a dual battery/dual switch system. Each battery is a 1400mAH 2/3A 5-cell pack of low-internal resistance cells (5mOhm). No powerbox but heavy-duty switches and wiring (including 20guage extensions to the tail servos).

With just one battery turned on my Voltspy flickers the top three lights if I move all the sticks continuously. With both batteries on it's solid as a rock.

After three flights the Voltspy is flickering again -- occasionally into the red and a recharge puts 300mAH into each pack (600mAH in total).

This setup is fine for me -- After three 6-8 minute flights I'm ready for a break anyway so 15 minutes on the chargers is not a problem.

I think you can get too carried away with powerboxes and extra stuff on smaller gasers. My philosophy is KISS and so far it seems to be working just fine.
XJet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:57 PM
  #3  
Magna
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Malaysia, MALAYSIA
Posts: 990
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 4 Hitec HS645MG, and 3 Futaba S9151, would you use upgrade powerbox?

Thanks!
Magna is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service