RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Flight Network MaxStream 900MHz Question

Reply

Old 06-09-2007, 09:10 PM
  #1  
ncmerek
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Flight Network MaxStream 900MHz Question

I am working on a flight network to fly an airplane autonomously. The flight computer is a Stargate with a MNAV sensor unit. I am trying to communicate with the flight computer with two recently purchased MaxStream 9XTend 900Mhz Ethernet modems. The problem I am having is that there doesn’t seem to be a way to connect the two Ethernet versions of the modems together. It calls for an Ethernet version and a serial version. I would rather try to use the two Ethernet modems since I have them already and would like to fly as soon as possible. Has anyone else had the same problem and found a way to get the two Ethernet modems to talk to each other? Thank you
ncmerek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 09:27 PM
  #2  
chrisF test pilot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight Network MaxStream 900MHz Question

From the experience I have had with these it doesnt matter what the interface is they will still talk. Of course they have to be programmed to use the same channel. Have you tried making them talk with the supplied software and loopback connector?
chrisF test pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 09:49 PM
  #3  
ncmerek
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight Network MaxStream 900MHz Question

Chris, I thought exactly like you. The ethernet version seems to be the problem. The manual shows it can be attached to only RF RS-232 modems or OEM modems. The loopback connector was not supplied with these ethernet versions I tried chacking all the settings for the channels as well. Did you work with 2 of the RS-232 modems? Thanks for your help.
ncmerek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 10:25 PM
  #4  
chrisF test pilot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: goodlettsville, TN
Posts: 359
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Flight Network MaxStream 900MHz Question

Yep, all of the ones we had were RS232, but from my understanding of the documentation the interface didnt matter. Of course I never tried one of the Ethernet modems but that was the impression I got. Did you buy them from Maxstream or a Maxstream dealer? If you did they have great tech support that may be able to help you. All of the sets I got had software as well as loopback and some adapters.
chrisF test pilot is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service