RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Is my new DX-7 broke?

Reply

Old 06-12-2007, 02:21 PM
  #1  
talbert
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Is my new DX-7 broke?

I'm asking here because I'm new to both computer radios and this new technology.

My problem? I picked up a new DX-7 a few weeks ago. I finally got out to the field to test it this weekend and noticed that the throttle trim setting was not working very well. I could easily lower the trim, but when I tried to reverse it, the trim would not go up. Eventually I got it to work (not sure what I did), but it started working. Then a little while later, it stopped working again. The other trims work as expected.

Is my radio broken or is there possibly a settle prohibiting this from working properly?

Thanks
talbert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 03:05 PM
  #2  
Mac_Man_UK
Senior Member
 
Mac_Man_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Slough, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,415
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is my new DX-7 broke?

On the JR sets (The DX7 is based on the 7202), the throttle trim is ONLY operative when the throttle stick is below half travel (ie less than centre).

Reasoning being is that its pointless trimming when at full throttle.......
Mac_Man_UK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2007, 03:08 PM
  #3  
Eric.Henderson
 
Eric.Henderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: HENDERSON, NV
Posts: 1,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is my new DX-7 broke?

You need to take a little journey into the DX7 manual. I think that I know what is going on for you.

The DX7 does not have a dedicated switch to kill the engine like, for example the 9CAP. Nor does it have a manual a ratchet trim on the throttle like the current JR radios.

What the DX7 lets you do is select a digital throttle trim return option. You can kill your engine by "beeping" down the idle trim. When you switch on again it will have reset the throttle trim back to the normal idle position again. You have to select this in the menu.

If I had my manual handy I could be more precise.

Regards,

Eric.
Eric.Henderson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 02:29 AM
  #4  
alan0899
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warialda NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,275
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Is my new DX-7 broke?

G'day Mate,
You need to turn throttle recovery ON, in your TX, look through the manual to find it, page 37.
The throttle trim switch is held down, until the trim goes to it's lowest point, if the throttle is set up correctly, the engine should stop, then one click up, of the throttle trim will recover it to where it started.
Or you could use the mix, outlined on Bob's page here, http://www.rcaerobats.net/
Scroll down to Specktrum DX 7 radio page,
alan0899 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service