RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

GOING ABSOLUTELY APESH*T HERE! HELP!!!!

Reply

Old 07-07-2007, 05:41 PM
  #1  
NebulaDDS
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default GOING ABSOLUTELY APESH*T HERE! HELP!!!!

I have a Futaba 9CHPS transmitter. In it I an FP-TP-FM module (capable of transmitting in FM and PCM). I am using channel 47.

None of the settings on my transmitted have been altered until now (i.e. none of the exponential, trim, endpoint, etc. etc.).

I also know that the transmitter works with PCM receivers, as I have two helis with which it has been used.

Today I purchased from my local hobby shop an 8-channel receiver: Futaba R168DF. It will be used with an airplane.

I took a channel 47 crystal from one of my other models and inserted it into this receiver.

I made sure, using the instruction manual as a guide, that my transmitter was transmitting on FM (PPM), not PCM.

I plugged two servos into the receiver--one in channel 1, the other in channel 4.

I straightened-out the antenna.

I then plugged a battery into the receiver (the batter, a 4-cell charged to about 5.1V).

I turned off then turned on my transmitter.

The servos wiggled around for a few seconds, then nothing..... no response to my inputs. Every time I turned off and turned on the transmitter, this would happen.

Out of curiosity, I turned my radio back to PCM to see if it'd work. This time, the servos continued to wiggle until I turned the transmitter off. When I turned it back on, they'd do it again.

So, what the hell is going on here? Did I purchase a defective receiver?
NebulaDDS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 06:14 PM
  #2  
lrb75
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 706
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GOING ABSOLUTELY APESH*T HERE! HELP!!!!

Did you use a dual conversion Futaba crystal?
lrb75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 06:50 PM
  #3  
GalenB
My Feedback: (18)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 2,140
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GOING ABSOLUTELY APESH*T HERE! HELP!!!!

Did you power cycle your Tx after changing it from PCM to PPM? Futaba Tx's must be power cycled for the new modulation to take effect...
GalenB is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service