RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

How do YOU set-up expo??

Reply

Old 07-12-2007, 06:43 AM
  #1  
shane.barton
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 100
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How do YOU set-up expo??

I am the proud new owner of a Futaba 9CAPS and was trying to dial in some expo on a few of my planes. I know "how" to get to the expo option, but don't know if I should program more throw with minimal stick deflection and less deflection with more stick, or the other way around. How do you set your expo?? If it makes a difference, I am programming my Avistar and my Dolphin .40. Screen shots would be a great help!

-Shane
shane.barton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 07:29 AM
  #2  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do YOU set-up expo??

Shane,

Expo is generally used to "soften" the control deflections around the center area of the stick travel, i.e. more stick movement than control movement around that area. It allows you to fly the model more smoothly in routine maneuvers but retains full control deflection if needed. Sometimes there is a use for the opposite effect in maybe a throttle servo or something.

On Futaba that setting is defined by a minus sign, the same setting on JR's is a plus sign.

Hope that helps...[8D]
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 10:45 AM
  #3  
Howard
Senior Member
My Feedback: (55)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Viera, FL
Posts: 693
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do YOU set-up expo??

Shane,

Exponential can be a tremendous assist in making your plane respond smoothly for small inputs or corections while keeping the full deflection of the control available when you move the sticks to their outer limits. I have never used the reverse or high sensitivity at the middle and less at the end of stick travel. I cannot imagine flying my planes today without a good bit of expo on all primary channes except the throttle. So, first try expo with a flat curve in the middle and see how you like it - then talk to someone else about the high sensitivity in the middle because I don't use it nior can I envision using it.

Howard
Howard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 10:53 AM
  #4  
daven
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Waseca, MN
Posts: 8,455
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do YOU set-up expo??

On a Futaba, MINUS Expo will de-sensitize the stick around Center.
POSITIVE Expo will make the stick more sensitive at Center.

daven is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 12:00 PM
  #5  
mscic-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
mscic-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New London, OH
Posts: 1,237
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do YOU set-up expo??

I usually start at -25% expo on ailerons, elevator and rudder. You can add more or less depending on the "feel" of the airplane.
mscic-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 01:24 PM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do YOU set-up expo??

The end result of a servo output (all except the old linear servos) has built in positive expo to begin with, so your controls are already more sensitive at center than at the outside of the stick throw.

Around 22 to 25 percent gives you linear control response, more than that actually makes the center softer than the outside. Some of the 3D guys use 60 percent for hovering and stuff.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2007, 01:48 PM
  #7  
onewasp
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: How do YOU set-up expo??

My comments are similar to the others----------------EXCEPT!!

First fly the plane and determine IF you even want it. I have found that on most of my planes (personal preference) I don't use any. On the current A/C I have 80% on Rudder; 15% on elevator and none on ailerons.

As in 'trimming' the A/C you aren't going to dial in the perfect set up for about fifty flights----at least that is what I find it takes me to get a good solid trim.
As part of this process you can use expo. ---that's it.

One word of caution, exponential isn't the "cure all" some would have you believe and the fact that "Super Pilot 'X' " uses it or doesn't has little to do with your favored set up.
I wouldn't use it unless I found a real need-------but again that is my personal preference not a guide for your set up.
onewasp is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service