RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Buddy box - how does it work

Reply

Old 07-30-2007, 09:55 AM
  #1  
Mike in DC
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 993
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Buddy box - how does it work

This is just a curiosity question...

If you use a spare transmitter as a buddy box, why does it have to be trimmed for the plane? Wouldn't things be a lot easier if you didn't have to reverse servos and set trim on the buddy box? Couldn't the manufacturer insert the buddy box circuitry directly into the raw stick output? For radios (used as buddy box) with multiple model settings, can you select one of the "models" to be the buddy box for a particular instructor's radio?

For Futaba, at least, it appears that the instructor radio powers the buddy box. How much power (and why any) does the buddy box draw?
Mike in DC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 01:18 PM
  #2  
olivier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brussels, BELGIUM
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Buddy box - how does it work

Hi,

A buddy box does not transmit, and instead of drawing about 250mA when transmitting, it draws about 30mA, either from the master (Futaba, Hitec, Multiplex & I think Airtronics/Sanwa) or from her own battery (JR, GWS).
I do not like the system where the master provides power to the slave : if something goes wrong in the buddy cable and the + and - of battery-circuit touch each other inside the cable... . Normaly a cable with only ground and ppm-signal is sufficient (like JR buddy-lead).

Some master TX does NOT require the slave to be programmed, servo reversed or trimmed. It is indeed a great facility, which I defined to be transmitters of "type 1". Check my website chapter 1 in the very beginning about the 3 different types of transmitter I defined type 1, 2 or 3.

For Futaba, it is called "Function" in the trainer menu, for JR it is called "pilot-link", both can be enabled or disabled.
For Multiplex mc3010-3030-4000-Evo9 & 12 it is -I think- always enabled as type 1.

Olivier
olivier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 01:20 PM
  #3  
olivier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brussels, BELGIUM
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Buddy box - how does it work

oops
olivier is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service