Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Reload this Page >

Who prefers heli transmitters to fly airplanes and why.

Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Who prefers heli transmitters to fly airplanes and why.

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2008, 10:07 AM
sos95714

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Who prefers heli transmitters to fly airplanes and why.

I’m new to the hobby and have noticed various comments regarding some folks preferring heli transmitters to fly their airplanes and since I’m in the market to purchase a radio system (Looking at the JR 9303) I thought I’d try to find out why.
Old 01-15-2008, 10:26 AM
Jim T
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Who prefers heli transmitters to fly airplanes and why.

I'm using a JR 9303 heli version to fly airplanes. Why? Because I had one that I bought a couple of years ago along with a new heli kit. Never did get the heli finished, but decided to use the radio for some new airplanes. I wasn't sure I liked not having a throttle rachet , so I ordered the rachet spring (like the airplane version uses) and installed it. The only thing I can point to about the heli version I like is the triple position switch on the left side that will be great to use for setting up triple rates. It's the switch that's normally used for "Idle Up" for helis. Would I buy a heli radio if I just wanted to fly airplanes, probably not.
As far as the 9303 goes I love it (either version). The only real down side for me is the fact that the timer can't be set up so it starts when the throttle is advanced. This can be done with Futaba radios and is a great convenience.
Hope this helps.

Jim
Old 01-15-2008, 11:05 AM
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)

Received 67 Likes on 54 Posts

The programming in both style tx's is the same.