RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba 3305 servos

Reply

Old 01-29-2008, 10:41 PM
  #1  
masonman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wynne, AR
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 3305 servos

I just bought a hand full of 3305 servo for a little winter project i have started. When the mail man droped them off i started reading on the box an found it said "For Ni-cd use only". This sucks cause i had already bought two Ni-mh battery for this model. Is there any thing i can do to make these servos work with Ni-mh batterys?
Thanks
masonman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 02:20 AM
  #2  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

That is a Futaba standard warning meant to ensure that you understand that these servos need a good power supply. If your NiMHs are good quality cells with a low internal impedance you will be fine. However, if you have cells with a higher internal impedance (over 8 to 10 milliohms per cell) you may have issues with voltage drop under load, especially if you are using 4-cell packs.
Silent-AV8R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 09:33 PM
  #3  
masonman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wynne, AR
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

Its a 2000 ma Ni-mh hyrimax 6.0 volts. Is this battery up to the task of 6 3305 an 1 3004?????
masonman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 06:29 AM
  #4  
Hibrass
My Feedback: (1)
 
Hibrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farmington, WV
Posts: 635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

Masonman,

It is not the mah that is important it is the impedence of the cells. I not familiar with the Hydra max cells so you will to look up the impedence of these cells and see if they fall below the suggested values provided by Silent AV8R... If so you are good to go, if not, consider a better cell such as the Sanyo FAUP NIMH.

I myself use the 3305's in some of my basher planes and it has performed very well when feed with a good battery...
Hibrass is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 11:32 AM
  #5  
masonman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wynne, AR
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

OK. I will try an do some reserch on this topic
masonman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 10:33 PM
  #6  
masonman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wynne, AR
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

Well i started centering my new 3305's 6 total. two off them let smoke out an a 3rd one got so hot i could fry an egg. Has any one been havein trouble with this type of servo? Tower has more than taken care of me on the deal though. Just hope one don't burn up in the air
masonman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 06:00 AM
  #7  
Hibrass
My Feedback: (1)
 
Hibrass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farmington, WV
Posts: 635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

Masonman,

That is a new one for me... I haven't run into that problem with any make of servo... I would think it was a voltage problem but unless you were hooking them up to 12 volt I can't think of a reason other than a dead short..

Good Luck,
Hibrass is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 07:59 AM
  #8  
flipstart
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Andersonville, TN
Posts: 666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

I have used about 12 of these 3305s in mostly pull pull applications in 1/5-1/4 scale planes, WWI scale not high performance and 3-4 of them just quit working or would move very slowly. Never had any that let the smoke out. I have switched to Hi-tec 645s for critical surfaces or 425s for throttle. Much happier with the Hi-tec so far. About same $$ but no problems. Remember that HItec servos turn in opposite direction than Futaba. (for installation purposes) Also the MG 645s seem to center better and gears are not as noisy. Just my opinion on the subject, but I have a flying buddy that had some of same experience-he has also switched to Hi-tec and is happy with their performance. I use Sanyo NIMH cells, high capacity and they also work fine on all my planes using the Hi-tec servos. Maybe Tower will do a swap out for you in this case. Check out the specs on the Hi-tec servos to see what you need for your application.
flipstart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 08:06 PM
  #9  
Sean C
My Feedback: (25)
 
Sean C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 152
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

They seem to be hit or miss. I've have a few in use and haven't had a problem (yet). Others have had some DOA as well as burn up once power is supplied.
Sean C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 10:09 PM
  #10  
flipstart
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Andersonville, TN
Posts: 666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

That does seem to be the case-some of my older ones-no problem-my flying buddy has changed out several of his old ones-sometimes they work just a few times during set up-fortunately we have not lost a plane - yet - but I am changing all of mine out for Hi - tec-may use them on throttle but not on critical surfaces!!
flipstart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 03:12 AM
  #11  
masonman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wynne, AR
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

645 are good servos. I have had a few,but i have always been a futaba guy.i have been told when you get the bad 3305's weeded out that you can expect a long lived good servo.Thats what i am hopein to make happen.If not i may own a hand fulla 645's
masonman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 08:59 PM
  #12  
fxrider
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

I use 3305s in my 27% CAP gasser and have for over a year. No problem. I also have Hitec 645 MGs on another airplane, no problem. As far as centering or noise I see no difference between the 2. I like them both but prefer Futaba only because I like Futaba products. Both are a great value for a good price and that allows me to fly larger aircraft without selling my house.
fxrider is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 09:47 PM
  #13  
masonman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wynne, AR
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

Fx rider, Tower has totally taken care of me on the servos. I'm with you when it comes to futaba stuff. These are the only servo i have had any trouble with. But I'm still not willing to completely change over to hitec yet. I just yesterday cherried my H9 27% extra 260 which has 6 3305 an 1 3004.None of them acted up. so i am happy. I am a little worried about the tiny bit of gear slop though.With 1.5 inch servo arms it might lead to a mild case of flutter.
masonman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 07:49 PM
  #14  
fxrider
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

I haven't experienced any excessive slop in the 3305s. I have had problems with just about every brand of servo I have ever used, however, the S-3305s are not one of them. I'll will keep an eye on them though. I use 1" aluminum arms, plenty of throw for me, but I don't 3d. Very short and sturdy push rods, connectors and sealing hinge lines, no flutter.

IMO, the H9 27% 260 is about the finest aircraft of that type I have ever flown. A good friend has one with a Brison 2.4, HS 645s, Futaba Fasst module and it is fantastic! Good luck with your plane, might be my next.
fxrider is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 08:26 PM
  #15  
masonman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wynne, AR
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 3305 servos

Thanks FXRider. the fox an brisson are pretty much the same engine

As for the s3305. I have been told that when you get a good one then it lasts forever. I have had no real trouble with the ones i have. I have found that if it lasts longer than 20 secs then its good. I have found the slop goes away when you turn the rx on.
masonman is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service