RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Dual Battery set up not working

Reply

Old 02-02-2008, 11:26 PM
  #1  
Whistling Death
Thread Starter
 
Whistling Death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexander City, AL
Posts: 2,584
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dual Battery set up not working

I am using dual 4.8 battery packs for servos and retract but I can't get it to work right. I am using the method below but the retracts don't work when plugged in. When I unplug it from the Y harness and plug it straight into the receiver it works fine. I have the red wire pulled out of the plug, I just can't figure it out.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88384.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	20.4 KB
ID:	868613  
Whistling Death is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:35 PM
  #2  
Ken6PPC
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 883
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

deleted
Ken6PPC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 11:44 PM
  #3  
bruce88123
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 11,703
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

It looks like it should work to me IF done exactly as drawn.

Note: You said 2 4.8 volt packs but show a 6 volt pack in the picture.
bruce88123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 02:15 AM
  #4  
Whistling Death
Thread Starter
 
Whistling Death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexander City, AL
Posts: 2,584
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

Yes it does show a 6 volt pack because that is from a Giant scale set up. I am using the same set up just with 2 , 4.8s.
Whistling Death is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 07:32 AM
  #5  
safeTwire
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rye Brook, NY
Posts: 572
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

In order to get the ultimate benefit from a dual pack & switch setup, both batteries require a direct routing/connection to the receiver.

Your setup will work by using a stock Y harness, with no wires removed.
safeTwire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 07:35 AM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

He's trying to isolate the retract servo to a single battery incase it stalls and drains the pack.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 08:55 AM
  #7  
safeTwire
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rye Brook, NY
Posts: 572
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

Ahhhh...I see.

There must be some event happening due to the red wire via the rx and/or servo internal circuitry, more than only to supply voltage?

Are the components the same brand? (Wires of different color's matched correctly?)
safeTwire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 10:28 AM
  #8  
JNorton
My Feedback: (2)
 
JNorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coopersville, MI
Posts: 4,326
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

What you've posted should work fine. Use a couple of fine straight pins and check for voltage at the retract servo. You could have a bad retract battery harness switch or when you cut the red wire to the receiver you cut it too far back and cut off power to the servo. Or a bad "Y" connector. You will have to use a voltmeter to find it or replace items one at a time. Did you plug the retract battery pack direct into the "Y"? That would eliminate the Retract harness switch.
John
JNorton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 05:30 PM
  #9  
Campgems
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 4,465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

Look for a pin being loose n the cable without the red wire. I've had them unlock from the housing and when you plug the cable into the receiver, the pin just pushes back. Make sure the little tab is locked to the pin, on both ends of the cable.

Don
Campgems is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 09:56 AM
  #10  
Whistling Death
Thread Starter
 
Whistling Death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexander City, AL
Posts: 2,584
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working


ORIGINAL: safeTwire

Ahhhh...I see.

There must be some event happening due to the red wire via the rx and/or servo internal circuitry, more than only to supply voltage?

Are the components the same brand? (Wires of different color's matched correctly?)
It is a Futaba PCM RX and a JR retract servo. The wires are connected right.
Whistling Death is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 09:57 AM
  #11  
butchn
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chaska, MN
Posts: 57
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

Just did this same thing over the weekend and it works great! Bet its lack of voltage - suggest following JN's advice using voltmeter, would guess Retract battery's voltage is not getting to the servo due to bad y harness.
butchn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 02:41 PM
  #12  
Whistling Death
Thread Starter
 
Whistling Death's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alexander City, AL
Posts: 2,584
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

It was just me, I'm not sure how I missed it but I was hooking the it up to the wrong side of the switch. It works great!!!
Whistling Death is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 03:23 PM
  #13  
bruce88123
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 11,703
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery set up not working

Doh!!
bruce88123 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service