RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Updating the 12Z for 2.4

Reply

Old 03-02-2008, 08:49 AM
  #1  
jonkoppisch
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (162)
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,818
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Updating the 12Z for 2.4

I just updated my 12z with the 2.4 fasst system. Since the info didn't seem very easy to find I thought that I'd post it and maybe save someone else some time....


I purchased the 1 gig lexar card from wally world, plug it into your computer (tower, card reader etc)

Go to the futaba site & get the update, http://2.4gigahertz.com/downloads/downloads.html

Downloaded the update to my desktop

I'm using XP so...

Right click on the file and select 'open with' then 'compressed (zipped) folders'

In the next window it will show the update

Goto the top of the window, click on 'file' then 'extract all' which gives you the 'extraction wizard' program, click next

In the 'select a destination' window, click on browse under the file name, browse to the location on your memory card

Click next to extract the files, when it's done click finish.

The files should now be on your memory card

Make sure that your radio battery is charged

Plug your memory card into your radio

Next to the card slot on your radio, if you look very close, there is a little slot with a switch. Use some tweezers or a very small flat head screw driver to toggle the switch to the other position.

Turn your radio on and go ahead with the update. It will take a few minutes for it to update.

After the black bar at the bottom is complete and it says the radio has updated successfully, turn the radio off.

While the radio is off, toggle the switch back to the original position.

Plug in your new module and turn on your radio. It should see that there's a new module. I believe that you need to cycle it once after this and then you're good to go.

Hope this helps!!

Jon



jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 10:49 AM
  #2  
nedyob
Senior Member
My Feedback: (67)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NORTHWOOD, IA
Posts: 1,381
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Updating the 12Z for 2.4

Hello Jon,
Does this work in the same fashion as the 12FG???
NEDYOB
nedyob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 11:15 AM
  #3  
jonkoppisch
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (162)
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,818
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Updating the 12Z for 2.4

Hi Bob,
I really don't know. I have the 12z and it worked for me. I found all of this after looking here and there and reading this and that and....
jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 11:15 AM
  #4  
camacho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mexico, MEXICO
Posts: 14
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Updating the 12Z for 2.4

Jon-

I foud your notes and just updated my 12Z.
I am using Windows VISTA however procedure is almost identical and it worked just fine.

Thank you for pasting all this info.
camacho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 05:57 PM
  #5  
jonkoppisch
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (162)
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,818
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Updating the 12Z for 2.4

jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:37 PM
  #6  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Updating the 12Z for 2.4

Hi Jon, did you have to "format" the new CF card with the 12z prior to using it?
rajul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:50 PM
  #7  
jonkoppisch
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (162)
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,818
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Updating the 12Z for 2.4

I went ahead and formatted the card.. Not sure if you have to though..
jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 05:00 PM
  #8  
superdave01
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Grand Paririe, TX
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Updating the 12Z for 2.4

With the updated 12Z have you had any settings change ??

Had one mix change from on all the time to a switch and another plane the rudd and elev trim chaged.

I wonder if we simply had a glitch or if theres a bug of some kind in the update.
superdave01 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service