RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Dual Battery Setup

Reply

Old 03-13-2008, 01:29 PM
  #1  
Piddler
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Piddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Dual Battery Setup

I'm currently putting together the most expensive plane the I have ever built. I'm thinking about using a dual battery setup. I want to make sure that I understand how to do this. I currently have the single battery setup installed. I have one channel open on my receiver. From what I have read, I can hook another switch and battery up using the open channel. Will this provide an alternate power source if one battery goes bad? I plan on using 2 6v 1100 mAh batteries. Will both batteries decrease voltage at the same rate, but just slower than the single set up?

Thanks in advance,

Brad
Piddler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 02:20 PM
  #2  
A.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery Setup


ORIGINAL: Piddler I'm currently putting together the most expensive plane the I have ever built. I'm thinking about using a dual battery setup. I want to make sure that I understand how to do this. I currently have the single battery setup installed. I have one channel open on my receiver. From what I have read, I can hook another switch and battery up using the open channel. Will this provide an alternate power source if one battery goes bad? I plan on using 2 6v 1100 mAh batteries. Will both batteries decrease voltage at the same rate, but just slower than the single set up? Thanks in advance, Brad
Dual (Parallel) Battery Operation = Reliability & More Flight Time

Dual Batteries, isolators, 6v, voltage depression, redundancy, etc

Regards
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 02:32 PM
  #3  
DougV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miramar, FL
Posts: 958
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery Setup


ORIGINAL: Piddler

I'm currently putting together the most expensive plane the I have ever built. I'm thinking about using a dual battery setup. I want to make sure that I understand how to do this. I currently have the single battery setup installed. I have one channel open on my receiver. From what I have read, I can hook another switch and battery up using the open channel. Will this provide an alternate power source if one battery goes bad? I plan on using 2 6v 1100 mAh batteries. Will both batteries decrease voltage at the same rate, but just slower than the single set up?

Thanks in advance,

Brad

http://www.hangtimes.com/rcbattery_faq.html
Scroll down to "Parallel/Redundant Battery Packs"

Doug.
DougV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 03:32 PM
  #4  
rcairflr
Senior Member
My Feedback: (44)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 1,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery Setup


ORIGINAL: Piddler

I'm currently putting together the most expensive plane the I have ever built. I'm thinking about using a dual battery setup. I want to make sure that I understand how to do this. I currently have the single battery setup installed. I have one channel open on my receiver. From what I have read, I can hook another switch and battery up using the open channel. Will this provide an alternate power source if one battery goes bad? I plan on using 2 6v 1100 mAh batteries. Will both batteries decrease voltage at the same rate, but just slower than the single set up?

Thanks in advance,

Brad
What you said is essentially correct. I use dual Nimh setup just like you described, and upon recharging they both draw almost the same amount of current while recharging. If one battery develops a short it may rapidly discharge the other battery, but if one battery opens the other is still operating at it's full potential.

Another method would be to go with a larger capacity battery with 2 leads and run the one battery thru 2 switches. IMO a switch is more likely to go bad than a battery.

Even though I use dual battery setup, I check my batteries under load prior to every flight.
rcairflr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 06:46 PM
  #5  
libor
Junior Member
 
libor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Teplice, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery Setup

I am using this [link=http://mgm-compro.com/index.php?tid=backup-battery-switches-accusw4&PHPSESSID=78ea523c2d4407b88c4ed8ad9388beec]switch[/link] in this bird
[link=http://www.kolmanl.info/index.php?show=rlunak_foto_2#rlunak_foto_2]Lunak[/link]
libor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 06:40 AM
  #6  
Piddler
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Piddler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 102
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Dual Battery Setup

Thanks for the links! That explains everything I wanted to know.

Thanks again,

Brad
Piddler is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service