RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

changing frequency

Reply

Old 03-11-2002, 07:45 PM
  #1  
UK Exile
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK, Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default changing frequency

I'm thinking of getting back into modelling but problem is my radio gear is in storage in New Zealand & is a Futaba 7 channel Gold Series (7FGK I recall ) & is using 35MHz range FM.
I've immigrated to the UK & have found out they use 36MHz.
Will a simple change of crystals be ok ? Or is that too much change of frequency ?
I've tried email to Futaba but website said they only support USA, Canada & Mexico.
UK Exile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2002, 09:11 PM
  #2  
Balsa Duster
Senior Member
 
Balsa Duster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 184
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default changing frequency

you can just buy a new modual for the trans. and buy a new recever.
Balsa Duster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2002, 07:31 AM
  #3  
UK Exile
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK, Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default changing frequency

is it still possible to get them ?
I (or rather my parents !!) brought the set for me approx 1984, surely parts can't still be available ? Or are they ?
Even if they were, a complete used set is likely to be cheaper isn't it ?
UK Exile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2002, 07:45 AM
  #4  
UK Exile
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK, Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default changing frequency

I've got replies on another forums saying can't do it as even a crystal change within a smaller band range often needs checking by a service centre so doesn't seem to be worth it, too expensive. Thanks for the advice but generally seems it's not what I was hoping to hear of course. Guess I'll just have to wait a few months & keep an eye out for a good used set. I had expected to replace the batteries & hoped just crystals. Will get my wife to bring the servos back, plugs are same as current plugs.
UK Exile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2002, 08:18 AM
  #5  
fiery
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Hervey Bay Queensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,982
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Old Futaba Gold Radio

Hope you sort it out one way or the other. How are you enjoying the old dart?

The UK ise 35 Mhz for R/C flying, Australia is 36Mhz. So I think it is possible you could use your old futaba radio, don't junk it, just replace the batteries and check it for bandwidth first.
fiery is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 07:34 AM
  #6  
UK Exile
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK, Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default changing frequency

I'll just search for a used set here in UK. It's seems to not be worth the postage & variuos crystal & servicing costs etc
UK Exile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2002, 09:19 PM
  #7  
Balsa Duster
Senior Member
 
Balsa Duster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 184
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default changing frequency

With FG radios you can replace the whole module. a module determins the frequency 35mhz 72 mhz 36mhz etc. if you can find sombody that has the module you are looking for you can use it

Just dont toss it! They are great radios
Balsa Duster is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service