RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Beginner, Futaba 6xaps? + other ?

Old 03-13-2002, 03:27 PM
RabidDragon

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Beginner, Futaba 6xaps? + other ?

Hello,
I am just starting out and looking for a good versital radio that I can use for all my future planes and possibly heli. It seems that the Futaba 6XAPS does this very well, it seems to have the popular funtions for both. Although the rachet in the trottle would not make it a ideal heli radio, saving $250 makes up for it. Is there another brand radio that does the same but is cheaper/better for $240 or less?

I did a search and cant find any topics on it, but I could find topics on the 6XAS, is it because the 6XAPS is new? possibly the new version of the 6XAS?... that would make sense anyway.

Other questions:
What would you need more that 6 channels for? 1. throttle 2. ailerons 3. rudder 4. elevator 5. flaps 6. retracts 7. Weapon pods? I just don't know where the other channels would be used.

Question that has been killing me... that I cant seem to find an answer to.... Why do most radios come with a receiver that has one more channel on it that the radio???? This seems... really dumb :stupid:,to put it politely. I'm am sure there is a very good reason for this and is so apparent that it is not even brought up... but I'll be darn if I can figure it out.

Can you use a 6 channel radio with a 3 channel reciever?

Anwers/response would be truely apperciated!
Jeremy :drowning:

==================================
Planing on buying:
Futaba 6XAPS + 2 hs55 servos
Viper Twin, delta wing, electric: www.jetsetairplanes.com/
Dymond Super Turbo Charger: www.rc-dymond.com/

Future planes?
Ripmas Aleinator Swept Wing:
electic heli?
Old 03-13-2002, 03:43 PM
DeadMeat

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback