RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Newbie questions about servo, rx, battery setup

Reply

Old 05-12-2003, 09:23 PM
  #1  
canuckledragger
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Prince George, BC
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Newbie questions about servo, rx, battery setup

Hi,

I have some basic questions about the different ways servos, receivers, and batteries can be connected. Thanks in advance for the help.

Q) When two servos are connected to the same channel on the receiver, do both servos respond identically to commands?

Q) Is it possible to hook up more than two servos to one channel?

Q) Is it possible to connect two batteries to a receiver to extend flight time?

Q) Lets say I have two seperate setups of two identical receivers each with its own identical battery. If I have two identical servos, one each attached to the same channel on each receiver, will both servos respond identically to a command?

Q) Could I wire the batteries in parallel and then wire the receivers in parallel so that each receiver gets the same amount of power?

Q) Is it possible to connect more than one servo to a gyro? Specifically, could I connect two servos to the GY601, or would this draw too much current?

Well, I quess that's it. Thanks a lot!
canuckledragger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 10:05 PM
  #2  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Newbie questions about servo, rx, battery setup

Ummm, let me give this a shot. Keep in mind, "identical" is a relative term. There are always slight differences in servos and there centering etc. JR makes a Matchbox to help with this. Futaba has a similar device called, I think, the MSA-10. Computer radios can help with this but they would have to be on different channels.

Yes- There are "Y's" and reversing "Y's" for this.
Yes- Futaba MSA-10(?).
Yes- do a search on Dual Batteries.
Yes
Don't know
Don't know.

Let's see if anyone else has more comments.

Mike
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2003, 10:30 PM
  #3  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,417
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Newbie questions about servo, rx, battery setup

If you want power redundency then plug a separate battery and switch into an unused Rx port and don,t forget to turn them both off and on each time .

If what you want more flight time then get a higher rated battery.

If you want Two RX redundency then use separate power supplies, two batterys and two switchs.

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service