RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

i need a huge servo

Reply

Old 05-16-2003, 01:24 AM
  #1  
Joe Trinkley
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl
Posts: 342
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default i need a huge servo

what is the biggest damn servo i can buy, 1/2 scale or bigger, and where can i look at one online, I'm having trouble finding a servo that has more than 275 torque for 4.8 volts, i need a lot more power

thanks
Joe Trinkley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 01:27 AM
  #2  
Joe Trinkley
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: St. Petersburg, Fl
Posts: 342
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default i need a huge servo

i don't even care if it's for an airplane, just as long as i can hook it to my rx......running off of 12 v but patched into my rx would be ideal


thanks guys
Joe Trinkley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 01:32 AM
  #3  
Peter Khor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default i need a huge servo

http://www.vantec.com/ssps105.htm
http://www.tonegawa-seiko.com/e_index.html
http://www.tokyo-hobbies.com/tonegawa.html

Big enough?

For the PS050, 350 oz in stall torque @ 4.8 VDC up to 690 oz in stall torque @ 8.4 VDC
Peter Khor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 02:38 AM
  #4  
Tech-RCU
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Winfield, KS,
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Give us a call!

Sir,

Give us a call at 620-221-0421. We have several new servos coming out in June that put out between 700 and 2,400 in-oz of torque. Our first model we are releasing uses an HS-805BB in our latest 4:1 gearbox with 32 pitch gears. At 6.0V it puts out 1,360 in-oz of torque with a transit speed of .56 sec. We also offer it in a 2:1 (680 in-oz, .28 sec) and an 8:1 (2,720 in-oz, 1.12 sec). We may be able to get one to you sooner. Thanks!

ServoCity
Tech-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 03:47 AM
  #5  
Pilotsmoe
Senior Member
 
Pilotsmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default i need a huge servo

Originally posted by Joe Trinkley
i don't even care if it's for an airplane, just as long as i can hook it to my rx......running off of 12 v but patched into my rx would be ideal


thanks guys
You can't run it directly from the receiver. They only support 2 amps, also if you run 12 volts in any receiver, you will fry it. You will have to use a y-harness to hook something up like this. You plug the servo in one, the battery in the other one( or on/off switch if you are using a switch, and the male connects to the rx.
Make sure that the y-harness and the switch are at least 18-20 gauge.
Pilotsmoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 03:59 AM
  #6  
Pilotsmoe
Senior Member
 
Pilotsmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default i need a huge servo

BTW, may I ask what are you using these for?

You might want to check out Radicalrc.com, he makes battery packs. He has them in all different capacities, tx and rx, and they are reasonibly priced.
Pilotsmoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 03:27 PM
  #7  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default i need a huge servo

How about these from Tonegawa:


(click on image)

Out of curiosity, I checked the price... That's one expensive servo!!! - $554.95 :boxing:

Pilotsmoe - when powering servos above 6V, the reciever has it's own battery (4.8V), and only the Rx signal wire and ground are connected to the servo. Then, a seperate battery (let's say 12V) is connected to the servo's power connections. Tonegawa provides an interface cable.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2003, 11:46 PM
  #8  
blkbird68
Senior Member
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Henderson, KY
Posts: 639
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo

http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/Electrical.html

scroll down towards the bottom of the page...
blkbird68 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2003, 03:16 AM
  #9  
Pilotsmoe
Senior Member
 
Pilotsmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default i need a huge servo

Pilotsmoe - when powering servos above 6V, the reciever has it's own battery (4.8V), and only the Rx signal wire and ground are connected to the servo. Then, a seperate battery (let's say 12V) is connected to the servo's power connections. Tonegawa provides an interface cable.
I guess something that big would need more than 4.8 Volts!!! That thing is huge!!!
Pilotsmoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2003, 03:49 AM
  #10  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default i need a huge servo

The SSPS-105 (which I was refering to at $554.95 for 90 rotation) is available up to 28 Volts! At 12V, it produces 27 Ft/lbs of torque! To put that in perspective, thats 5184 oz-in at 12 Volt.

Imagine what it does at 28 Volt !!!
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2003, 09:41 AM
  #11  
tinman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: columbia, TN
Posts: 1,174
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default .

geez...the servo arm must be about a foot long on that thing....what is that bolted down with? 3/8 bolts or do ya need to weld it?
tinman is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service