RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Reply

Old 05-28-2003, 01:52 AM
  #1  
hyperviper89
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huston, TX
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Ok everyone, I just lost a U-CAN-DO today, here is what happened...

I was flying and made a turn toward me, I went to turn more and I noticed that I had very little aileron to the right(next to nothing). I tried left and it worked fine(just like rudder and everything else) so I went ahead and pulled it hard away to make sure if it went it was going to be out of the pits. I slowly got the plane to roll very slowly to the right to level it off. I was about 30 feet in the air and then I lost all control and the plane hit at a -30 angle. It acted like a battery problem so before I moved the plane I took my tester to the crash site. I checked over everything and didn't find a problem. The plane worked fine after the crash. I am not useing PCM and the RX has about 10 flights(all i got from the plane) and I am using the Futaba 9c. So now I really have no clue whats wrong. I have had my share of bad luck lately. I am thinking that I am just going to quite the hobby for month or so, I just have no planes now and seems like everyone i get (even if its free) crashes within a month. I might just not fly anymore until I go giant scale.... but back to the radio question, any ideas????
hyperviper89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 03:51 AM
  #2  
searcher
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern CAL
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio Problems

Hello Conrad,

Dont get too discouraged.

I am curious if you were using digital servos with a standard FM receiver?

I had JR 8411 digital servos in my UCANDO and was using a hitec FM receiver and a Hitec Eclipse 7 radio. The digital servos seem to hum and buzz all the time, which they tend to do in my other planes as well. I noticed that the servos glitched occasionally. On the fifth flight I lost left aileron control, it went to full extension in the up position. I compensated by applying full right stick making the right aileron go to the fully up position. I guided it back using rudder and elevator and she did the most beautiful harrier landing! Anyways, I never could figure out the glitching. I swapped the Hitec rcvr out for a JR 955 and a JR10X xmtr and all was well. The Hitec was put into another bird with standard servos and it was fine there.

Can anyone tell me if there is an issue with using digital servos with a non PCM receiver? Perhaps more specifically JR digitals; I've used Hitec digital servos with a standard rcvr and had no issue.
searcher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 12:33 PM
  #3  
hyperviper89
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huston, TX
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Thats lucky.... I was planning on the same, but when I lost complete control of the plane there was no hope. :stupid:
hyperviper89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 12:39 PM
  #4  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

It sure sounds like a battery failure to me! I'd suggest you cycle the battery to validate it's condition. You might take look at all the electrical connectors and switch as well, maybe you have broken wire, bad or intermittent switch.
mglavin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 01:48 PM
  #5  
hyperviper89
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huston, TX
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Battery was my initial thought. I have just took it off the charge and before I flew it was just under 7 volts. After the crash it was down to about 6.6 volts. The battery has only about 10 flights on it as I put a new RX and battery in this plane. The battery is a 6v NIMH 1650 from radicalrc. The battery is fine(radicalrc sure has nice products) and all other electrics were fine. Is their anything with RF that might cause this? Thanks
hyperviper89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2003, 06:49 AM
  #6  
Andrew_S
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Andrew_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gaston, SC
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

I think the problem starts with the letter "F" and ends with "a"..... :drowning:
Andrew_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 02:03 AM
  #7  
BalsaOvercast
My Feedback: (16)
 
BalsaOvercast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 229
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Here's my 2 cents...

We've had 3 UCD's crash at our field lately. All were using different radio and servo combinations, and all had good battery packs.

The common thread for them all was that they were all flown TOO FAST! The UCD is a fluttering beast, and you'll strip an aileron servo out faster than you can say "Oh **it!" If those broken teeth get stuck in the geartrain, you'll have a deflected aileron right quick, and no input will save her.

Throttle management is the key, or at least, that's what I've seen at my field.
BalsaOvercast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 03:11 AM
  #8  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Could it be that the switch was faulty, or simply switched off with the vibration?

-David C.
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 03:47 AM
  #9  
hyperviper89
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huston, TX
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

I checked the switch too...it's one of those nice MPI ones
hyperviper89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 05:34 AM
  #10  
plumberdeluxe
My Feedback: (208)
 
plumberdeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Thornton, IA
Posts: 234
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

You'd be foolish to quit flying without trying a nice radio like a jr or airtronics. Sell your Fubar, I mean Futaba
plumberdeluxe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 11:48 AM
  #11  
gjhinshaw
My Feedback: (303)
 
gjhinshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lathrop, MO
Posts: 1,337
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

All of these sound like it would be it, I can't beleaxe that it was none of the above. But .... One other thing that may have happened is that you or someone close to you had a CELL PHONE on them. There has been a NEW study on the interferance with cell phones and radio's. They can still cross signal's and you can lose your plane. I thought I was having radio problems. So after reading the clip I left the phone in the car and had no more problems. They say to keep cell phones about 100 to 200 feet away from the flight line. You can take this for what its worth, but it worked for me...... KEEP FLYING
gjhinshaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 12:50 PM
  #12  
david a
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: montgomery, alabama
Posts: 328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Yes, I have a suggestion. Get a basic four or six channel non-computer radio then go fly.
david a is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 04:45 PM
  #13  
Andrew_S
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Andrew_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gaston, SC
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Amen plumberdeluxe....HAHAHAHAHA
Andrew_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2003, 04:41 AM
  #14  
hyperviper89
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huston, TX
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

I answer calls on my cell while flying and never get hits... I don't think that was the problem here
hyperviper89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2003, 09:07 AM
  #15  
spasmatic
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: knoxville, TN
Posts: 79
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Check to see if your antenna in screwed tightly to the post on your transmitter. This accident sounds just like what happened to me while flying my giant stinger. The control became erratic and finally a steep angle crash. Everything checked out and I was totally puzzled until I started to retract my antenna and found it was loose. The radio I was using is a Futuba 6XAS.
spasmatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2003, 06:01 PM
  #16  
N1EDM-RCU
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brockton, MA,
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

I'm wondering if it could be that the ailerons had something jamming them (or the servo itself), such that they could only move in one direction and not the other?

If servos are buzzing, then something is impeding their progress, i'e', something is rubbing, misaligned, or too tight.

We're making the assumption that the ailerons were in perfect condition, and they might not have been. The radio itself may have been perfect. It could have been that you had a linkage or hinge problem with the control surface.

I'm not saying that it is, I'm just saying that it could be a possible culprit to look into.

I'm just adding my 'devil's advocate' $.02

Bob
N1EDM-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 01:18 AM
  #17  
hyperviper89
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huston, TX
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

that was my first thought, but I checked them all and they were fine
hyperviper89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 10:43 AM
  #18  
Andrew_S
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Andrew_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gaston, SC
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

Simple.............Everything checks out a-ok, no mechanical problems anywhere only leaves 1 more thing.......Pilot error.....Andrew
Andrew_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 11:25 PM
  #19  
hyperviper89
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huston, TX
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio problem.. any Ideas?

LOL.. yeah right Andrew... thanks for the tip :stupid: ... Did you see the crash? That was no error from a high gentle decent into the ground...
hyperviper89 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service