RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Reply

Old 05-31-2003, 02:17 AM
  #1  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Has anyone experienced range problems with a Futaba 9C?

Let me explain...

My radio has been used for less than 15 total flights. When I recently setup my 27% CA Extra I couldn't get 20 paces away with antenna down before the servos began to jump around. As a result I took the antenna out of the fuse and ran it down the under side of the fuse. This seemed to give me a better range test but not as solid as I'd like to have seen. It was enough for me to consider flying it and I did so. I put 8 more flights on the plane without noticing any problems in the air but still the ground range test WITHOUT the engine running wasn't as good as I'd like to have seen.

Anyway on the 9th flight of the plane as I began to turn final for landing I had a huge glitch of my servos but was able to safely land the plane. I looked everything over yet again and did some more range testing on the ground. Still not as solid as I'd like to see but good enough to feel it was ok to fly. On the 10th flight I had 3-4 major glitches in the air but again was glad to get it back down without a crash. Now I've had enough to not fly it again until I feel the range tests are ROCK SOLID so I began looking everything over very closely.

As part of my testing through process of elimation I have nothing left to blame but the radio itself and this is why I feel this.

I first by passed my switch to elminate that, I then unhooked one servo at a time to eliminate any possible problems there, then I replaced the reciever with another one... still not solid. I then called Futaba support and explained my problem. He said that he was 80% sure that the module was my problem so I borrowed a friends module pack and I still have servos jumping. I feel I have elminated everything but the radio itself and have no choice but to box it all up and send it to Futaba.

Just so you know I consider a solid range test when you can walk 30-35 paces, antenna down and not have any servos jump or move around. Something I haven't been able to do.

I am using a 148DF rx with 3-JR8411's, 2-JR4721's and 2-Futaba 3004 servos, Cermark DSC switch and running a 1650mah 6v battery. (PS. I also tried a 4.8v battery, same problems.)

Basically it seems to have gradually gotten worse with each flight.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? Would you recommend me trying anything else before I send it to Futaba support?
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 03:11 AM
  #2  
Pilotsmoe
Senior Member
 
Pilotsmoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 606
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Do you know the range in feet? If it is 50 or more ft. than you are good.
Pilotsmoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 04:24 AM
  #3  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Borrow someone's 8U or 9C and try range testing again. If that doesn't work then send the whole deal back.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 05:54 AM
  #4  
Shortman
My Feedback: (21)
 
Shortman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,966
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Wreck, i feel for you and your electronics. I wish my Futaba 9CAP were here with me right now. Mine is at a builders whos trimming my giant scale plane out, hopefully fly it this weekend!

I have yet to have any problems like you state. I however have noticed that if I turn off my radio or have it down and dont touch it the servos sometimes gitter around. Hasnt effected the flying though.
Shortman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 11:34 AM
  #5  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Originally posted by Pilotsmoe
Do you know the range in feet? If it is 50 or more ft. than you are good.
I disagree... 50 feet isn't near far enough. You should be able to walk 150 feet and still be rock solid with most radios and I'm starting to get jumpy servos at probably 30 feet away.
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 02:28 PM
  #6  
Dale_L
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lafayette, CO
Posts: 96
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

WreckRman, I agree with you. I know I always go for @ least 100ft. This is probably redundant, but make sure you are not pointing your antenna directly at the plane. That is the weakest part of the signal off of the antenna (you probably already know, but thought it could not hurt to mention...).

Dale
Dale_L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 02:36 PM
  #7  
Giant Scale
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Without being there to look at your install I would first check the obvious. Does the glitching occur with the engine running as well as off? I'm assuming you are running a gas engine? Did you check for any metal to metal connections or other ignition related problems? I know you have set up quite a few gassers but it is possible to miss something. If the problems still persists did you check for possible rf noise from long extensions..etc? You said the reception seemed better with the antenna outside the plane. Have you had this receiver mounted in any other planes? Did you try using another receiver? Could your transmitter have been dropped or damaged? Check to see if your transmitter antenna is connected properly. I would agree with you that 50 feet is not an adequate range check, 150 is more acceptable. If another receiver/transmitter exhibits the same problem then you may be forced to send the transmitter in for service.
Giant Scale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 02:49 PM
  #8  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Wreck,

Make sure all you extensions are heavy duty wire.
I had exactly the same problem with my Cap initially.

If you are using any Y harness's make sure its plugged directly to the receiver and the the long extensions go out from there.
I dont think this applies to you because of single servo aileron set up.

I dont think its a range problem. My bet is that its in the set-up somewhere.
wgeffon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:13 PM
  #9  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Originally posted by Giant Scale

Does the glitching occur with the engine running as well as off?

---
This is without the engine running...
---

I'm assuming you are running a gas engine?

---
yes but problems I am getting are without the engine running
---

Did you check for any metal to metal connections or other ignition related problems?

---
yes, tailwheel springs was only metal to metal and it was fixed
---


If the problems still persists did you check for possible rf noise from long extensions..etc?

---
the only servos that have long extensions (12" or more) is the elevator servos and with them unhooked the servos still jump around
---

Have you had this receiver mounted in any other planes?

---
yes for about 8 flights in a ucando with no noticable problems.
---

Did you try using another receiver?

---
yes, another 148df and get same results
---

Could your transmitter have been dropped or damaged?

---
never dropped, always kept in a case
---

Check to see if your transmitter antenna is connected properly.

---
did this also
---
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:21 PM
  #10  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Originally posted by wgeffon
Wreck,

Make sure all you extensions are heavy duty wire.
I had exactly the same problem with my Cap initially.

If you are using any Y harness's make sure its plugged directly to the receiver and the the long extensions go out from there.
I dont think this applies to you because of single servo aileron set up.

I dont think its a range problem. My bet is that its in the set-up somewhere.

Using Expert 22g extensions with the elevators being the longest however if I unhook them both I'm still getting intererence. No Y harnesses, every servo has it's own channel slot in the rx.

I've over looked everything in the plane, nothing is within 2" of the antenna.

I tried another module pack last night from a friend, swapped the crystals and still same problem. One could say it might be the crystals but I thought either they worked or they didn't.

I'm supposed to meet Tim later today and were going to put my module in his radio and see if we get a good range test. If we do then that points everything to the radio itself.
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:22 PM
  #11  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Are you flying other airplanes with the radio?
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:25 PM
  #12  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Originally posted by Flyfalcons
Are you flying other airplanes with the radio?
Unfortunately no or that might help...
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:28 PM
  #13  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Would it be possible to hook up with a buddy that has an 8U or 9C, and use their module to move the servos on their plane? This way you can range test your transmitter on a proven module/onboard setup.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:32 PM
  #14  
JohnMac
 
JohnMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leeds, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,412
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Range Problem

WreckRman,
Does your model have any significant amount of carbon fibre in it?
If so try hold the Rx aerial vertical and try again. If this works a whip aerial might be the answer.
Regards,

John.
JohnMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:38 PM
  #15  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Originally posted by Flyfalcons
Would it be possible to hook up with a buddy that has an 8U or 9C, and use their module to move the servos on their plane? This way you can range test your transmitter on a proven module/onboard setup.
No need to use a buddy cord because the module pops out and will go in any 8U or 9C radio. Not to mention when using a buddy cord the master radio transmits the signal no matter if it's buddy corded or not.
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:39 PM
  #16  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: Range Problem

Originally posted by JohnMac
WreckRman,
Does your model have any significant amount of carbon fibre in it?
If so try hold the Rx aerial vertical and try again. If this works a whip aerial might be the answer.
Regards,

John.
No carbon fiber at all... well not true, my aileron and elevator servo linkages are carbon fiber.
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:42 PM
  #17  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

I guess that's what I meant, "hook up" as in "meet with". This would be the best way to isolate the transmitter.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:43 PM
  #18  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Exactly, and I hope to do that later today or tomorrow.
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:46 PM
  #19  
Shortman
My Feedback: (21)
 
Shortman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,966
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Did you not use this transmitter on your U-CAN-DO-3D? You say you used the reciever for a few flights on the Great planes, how about the transmitter?
Shortman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 08:04 PM
  #20  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Ok, I feel I have eliminated everything on the plane...

Here is my 2nd rx, with 7 standard servos, no extensions, and with the antenna laid out perectly flat.

I walked my radio 35 paces away, a pace as in a walk with legs extending out... ALL of these servos are acting the same as in the plane at 35 paces away.

You be the judge...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	82821_8660.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	32.1 KB
ID:	48648  
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 08:05 PM
  #21  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Here is my radio 35 paces away... and it didn't take all 35 paces before I heard them starting to move around. They started at about 20 paces.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	82823_8660.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	53.3 KB
ID:	48649  
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 08:07 PM
  #22  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Originally posted by Shortman
Did you not use this transmitter on your U-CAN-DO-3D? You say you used the reciever for a few flights on the Great planes, how about the transmitter?
Ya, same rx and same tx... it seems the more I use the radio the worse the signal gets.
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 08:08 PM
  #23  
WreckRman2
Banned
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN,
Posts: 1,494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Members of the jury, have you reached a verdict? LOL
WreckRman2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 08:23 PM
  #24  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

Don't be too quick, I'm experiencing the same problem with my DP Extra and have the same symptoms with my 9C and 6XAS, both of which work flawlessly on other planes. This doesn't mean that your Tx isn't going bad, but it isn't certain either.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 08:58 PM
  #25  
Equest
Senior Member
 
Equest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 9C Range Problems...

I have read through all of the replies and no one has mentioned a possible issue with the TX or RX batteries. This could be the culprit.
Equest is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service