RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

transmitters

Reply

Old 06-01-2003, 06:00 PM
  #1  
belfast flyer
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: belfast, IRELAND
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default transmitters

hi
just wanted to pick your brain,s about some thing.
i have a futaba skysport 4 transmitter and was wondering when
i get a new model can i just change the crystals to change the
radio frequencys to suit the planes?
b.flyer
belfast flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2003, 08:03 PM
  #2  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default transmitters

Yes. Ignore all the stuff you will read on this forum about changing crystals being illegal, that only applies in the USA. It is perfectly legal and normal practice in most of the rest of the world including UK.

H
HarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 06:59 AM
  #3  
Steve Lewin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Reading, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 904
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default transmitters

Yes you can if you need to. However for many of us it makes sense to just use the same frequency in all our planes so we don't have to mess about with the transmitter every time we fly another plane.

Steve
Steve Lewin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 08:21 AM
  #4  
belfast flyer
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: belfast, IRELAND
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default transmitters

steve
thanks for that .
its was one of those questions that was to simple to ask at the club.
with out feeling daft.
thank's for your help
b flyer
belfast flyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 10:06 AM
  #5  
Banksy
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London(ish)Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default transmitters

Check whether your rx is single conversion or dual conversion...

That cost me 6 quid a few weeks ago ..
Banksy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 08:55 AM
  #6  
bushwhacker
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TamworthStaffs, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default transmitters

changing xtals according to the model you are using can easily lead to frequency problems if you are using a site where others may be flying.

You can only fly 1 plane at a time so it is safer to stick to 1 frequency and keep a backup set of xtals if several flyers are using the same frequency.

It is too easy for even the most safety minded person to forget which frequency they are using when constantly changing Xtals.
( as witnessed twice recently at our club field)

Constant xtal changes can also cause radio problems due to excessive contact wear and dirt. Xtals are delicate devices and your radio link is an important part of your control system.

Better to be safe than sorry. It' a matter of risk assessment.

regards
bushwhacker is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service