RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

GLITCH in my Airtronics Elev. Circuit

Reply

Old 03-21-2002, 12:43 AM
  #1  
Oscar-RCU
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default GLITCH in my Airtronics Elev. Circuit

First, a moment of silence for my faithful trainer that found the dead center of a fence post this evening......

O.K., now that I'm over that. I need some help.

I have a Airtronics Vanguard 6 channel radio. I'm not exactly sure on the age, but I'm guessing around 10 to 12 years old. I bought it used in '93 and it was in good shape (I thought).

This afternoon, I was doing some take off and landing cycles off the ice on our pond and on the last approach, I lost all elevator control. The plane went straight into a post.

I previously had some elevator problems a week or so ago, and I checked the servo and all connections to make sure there was not short, which there weren't, and then continued to fly without a problem.

Now here is where it gets interesting. About 8 years ago, I had a Riser 100 glider that I used with this radio. I lost that glider when it suddenly dived into a power line and sheared itself in half. I had decided that electrical interference from the power lines had caused this accident, but now I'm not sure.

So that's the story and here's my question:

How do I find out if it is the receiver that is causing the problem or the radio?

Also, is it possible that a radio can have a useable lifespan? This radio sat for a number of years before I put it back into service.

Thanks for your help.
Oscar-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 07:42 PM
  #2  
flybaby747
Junior Member
 
flybaby747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Devonporttasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GLITCH in my Airtronics Elev. Circuit

possibility that the radio pots in the transmitter are gone , what happens is that dirt or moisture gets into the gimbals and it results in a pot that is malfunctioning . its easier to go onto ebay and buy yourself a new hitec radio.

shame about the riser , im building one at the moment , nice sailplane.

cheers
doug
flybaby747 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 08:13 PM
  #3  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,417
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GLITCH in my Airtronics Elev. Circuit

Another question that comes to mind is: are these the same batterys Tx and flight pack that came with the set back in 93 (or older)?
Did you check the Rx pack voltage after the incident today and how long did you charge it last night?

Since you bought this unit in 93 and its age is unknown: does the Tx have a small gold colored sticker anywhere on it Back, bottom etc. and if it does the the Rx say dual conversion anywhere on it. There is a chance it is wideband set that would make you succeptable to all sorts of interferance and worse the Tx could knock others out of the shy on nearby channels.

The last date new wideband sets could be sold was in 91 and Vanguards sold long before the changeover and after but with a narrow band Rx. And the post 91units were identified with the gold sticker as well as all other brands sold in the US.

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 08:02 PM
  #4  
GoNavy
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rib Lake, WI
Posts: 535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GLITCH in my Airtronics Elev. Circuit

Oscar:

I had a problem with an Airtronics Vanguard with ailerons....airtronics found a cold solder joint in the transmitter, problem solved.

However, I have had recurring total signal loss incidences which as yet are unexplained.
GoNavy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 08:32 PM
  #5  
Suzie Miller
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Clifford, IN
Posts: 34
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GLITCH in my Airtronics Elev. Circuit

Why don't you bury that thing and get a modern advanced radio like an Airtronics VG400?

Suzie
Suzie Miller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 10:26 PM
  #6  
GoNavy
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rib Lake, WI
Posts: 535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GLITCH in my Airtronics Elev. Circuit



"Use it up,
wear it out,
make it do or
do without"

FDR or just WWII slogan?
GoNavy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 10:28 PM
  #7  
GoNavy
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rib Lake, WI
Posts: 535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GLITCH in my Airtronics Elev. Circuit

What are the advances of a VG400 over a Vanguard, aside from a change in connectors and 7 channel receiver standard?
GoNavy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service