RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Reply
Old 09-19-2012, 02:19 PM
  #4526
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Not essential except for those who requested the timer be more accurate.
Also prepares the A9 for use with the soon to be released advanced telemetry units

Telemetry - Instruction Sheets & User Guide with pictures plus Enhancements Under Development.
"8. HTS-SS Advance ETA 3rd quarter 2012.
pictures attachd together with those for those also to be released same time:
HTS-VM (Variometer Sensor)
HTS_SM (Servo Manager)
HTS-ETemp (Engine Temp Sensor)
HTS-AS (Air Speed)
HTS-SS Advance measures aprox L40 x W28 x H8 mm"

Alan Tong
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 12:51 AM
  #4527
ricochet59
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mona, UT
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Thanx for all the replies to my request. I had thought it was on this thread that I had read that theRcExl were cheap knockoffs that were not reliable. So, I will proceed with using them. Thanx !!
ricochet59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 01:31 AM
  #4528
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ricochet59 Thanx for all the replies to my request. I had thought it was on this thread that I had read that theRcExl were cheap knockoffs that were not reliable. So, I will proceed with using them. Thanx !!
Possibly referring to the cautions under:
. After Market Accessories - Ignition Systems, Leads, Modules & Switches - Cautions.

extract:
" . Do Not Use RCEXL & Others which have a Common Ground (Negative) line as an Optical Kill Switch!
- refer pictures of circuit and How To Correct where possible."

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:53 AM
  #4529
ricochet59
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mona, UT
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

A.T. - Thank you. That helps alot. I just like to feel comfortable about flying a plane with confidence. Sometimes I think I read to much, getting more info than I need. Thanx again.
ricochet59 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 03:07 PM
  #4530
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System



HPP-22 Upgrade to V1.13(0) now available.

. Uninstall earlier version from PC then install latest version.



Upgrade detail:
Eclipse 7 Pro 2.4Ghz V1,03(0) Upgrade
- added Upgrade Mode and HPP-22 Mode
- Added HTS-S Advance Display
- Model Data can save to PC and bring the Data from PC
(Eclipse .set files are not recognised by an Aurora 9)
- Improved latency



Optic 6 Sport 2.4 V1.03 (0) Upgrade
- Improved Latency

Aurora 9 V1.09(0) Upgrade.

Later: "readme .txt" ex HPP-22 upgrade has been added, this provides recent version information relating to all units.

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Db84034.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	17.1 KB
ID:	1804948   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sn40581.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	1804949   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ch97846.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	1804950  
Attached Files
File Type: txt
Wt59017.txt (4.5 KB, 4 views)
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:23 PM
  #4531
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

A few users have advised of a problem when connecting to the HPP-22 Station, answered elsewhere as:
"Have updated a number of Aurora, Eclipse 7 Pro & Optic 6 Sport at several locations today,
a couple did take some time for HPP-22 to connect.
No doubt for same reasons as in the past, there will be delays getting a connection
over next few days. This as the news has gone worldwide and there are now three
transmitters being updated,
not just the Aurora 9.

15 minutes later: Attached HPP-22 to upload model data from A9 to PC
and received attached warning that HPP-22 was not connecting to the station.
Hit "OK" and proceeded to transfer Data then email to requestee.
Guess there is an overload at Korea end and users need to exercise patience
until the next schedule as in link provided above, extract:
"Try again later, as posted just a few posts beforehand:
1. Korean ISP will sometimes show "data overload" - normalisation at midnight,
Seoul Kr time = aprox another 10.5 hours. World Clock – Time Zones


i.e. if at first no connection, please be patient and try again later.

Alan T.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Om32580.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	37.8 KB
ID:	1805196  
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 01:20 PM
  #4532
Michel
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint- JEROME, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,209
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Hi AT

I am in the process of installing my A9 in a fiberglass fuse , will this have any effect on my 2.4 system . I,m sure that this question has been asked in the thread ,...................... this is one huge thread .

Would you please dirrect me here ,................................ Thanks

Michel
Michel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:15 PM
  #4533
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: michel gravelle Hi AT
I am in the process of installing my A9 in a fiberglass fuse , will this have any effect on my 2.4 system . I,m sure that this question has been asked in the thread ,...................... this is one huge thread .
Would you please dirrect me here ,................................ Thanks
Michel

Should not have any noticable impact unless as with all 2.4Ghz systems, antenna isinstalled to close toengine,
metal parts or high current batteries, C/F reinforcing, metal pushrods etc.

Please be guided by information and pictures under:
. Optima Transceiver & Minima Receiver - Installation RX & BODA Antenna FAQ,

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:21 PM
  #4534
bearcatt1
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hawthorne, CA
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Say A.T., can you give me guidance toward setting up the warning for low batteries using the Telemetry pack on my A9.  When i think I have set a number at 5.5 or so, my talking module still says low battery.
bearcatt1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:24 PM
  #4535
Michel
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint- JEROME, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,209
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Hi AT

Thanks for the prompt reply

No high current , no carbon fiber , no metal parts .

Michel
Michel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:29 PM
  #4536
Michel
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint- JEROME, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,209
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: bearcatt1

Say A.T., can you give me guidance toward setting up the warning for low batteries using the Telemetry pack on my A9. When i think I have set a number at 5.5 or so, my talking module still says low battery.
Hi
I think I can help here .

You must program the radio , " AND " the voice box separately .
But I could be wrong [8D]

Michel
Michel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:39 PM
  #4537
bearcatt1
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hawthorne, CA
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Thanks, but I don't have any info or manual to program the voice box. It only showed how to connect to the back of Spectra 2.4 module.
bearcatt1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:53 PM
  #4538
Michel
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint- JEROME, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,209
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Hi

You can program it manually , or download the program from Hitec and program it with youre computer ,.......... it,s easy .

Michel
Michel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:58 PM
  #4539
bearcatt1
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hawthorne, CA
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

thanks Michel, I will continue to try, But it's not that clear on how to.
bearcatt1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 03:04 PM
  #4540
4*60
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Shuswap, BC,
Posts: 1,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Link to programming pdf...

http://www.servocity.com/HTS-VOICE_SETUP.pdf
4*60 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 03:16 PM
  #4541
bearcatt1
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hawthorne, CA
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Now that's what I'm looking for. thanks so much.
bearcatt1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 08:01 AM
  #4542
czaiss
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , AB, CANADA
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: wkevinm

Aurora 9 transmitter... Intermittent failure to power up.

I was at a contest yesterday and after landing a plane I powered down the rx and tx. When I went to power up in the pits to do a check before the next race the tx would not power up... No light, no screen. This is the 3rdtime this has occurred over the last year. The first time several months ago, the second time in the workshop a few days ago and this time at a contest. The Tx subsequently started up as it has before after a couple of minutes leaving it alone.

Now I know I need to send it in, but the last time I sent in receivers it took a few weeks to get them back (firmware update). So I need to get another tx while it is in the shop. I am not keen on buying another Aurora 9. But I want a spare tx in the meantime during the servicing. Can I substitute with a cheaper tx.

wkevinm
I have the same problem from time to time. Once a month or every two months. I just take the battery out of the TX and put it back in. Seems to start every time after that.

I'm guessing that since the on off switch also triggers the processor to save data and other stuff, it may be getting stuck at some point during the process and only once power is comepletely removed is the process terminated.
czaiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 08:12 AM
  #4543
Michel
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Saint- JEROME, QC, CANADA
Posts: 1,209
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Hi

Thanks for that heads-up , I have a friend of mine that has the same problem . So in a sense , we are re-booting it ?

Michel
Michel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:10 AM
  #4544
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Aurora 9 - Off/On Switch problem or Screen does not Display?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: czaiss
I have the same problem from time to time. Once a month or every two months.
I just take the battery out of the TX and put it back in. Seems to start every time after that.
I'm guessing that since the on off switch also triggers the processor to save data and other stuff,
it may be getting stuck at some point during the process and only once power is comepletely removed is the process terminated.
Quote:
ORIGINAL: michel gravelle Hi
Thanks for that heads-up , I have a friend of mine that has the same problem . So in a sense , we are re-booting it ?
Michel
Aurora 9 - Off/On Switch problem or Screen does not Display?
A9 Auto Saves (flash) each session's programming & trim changes on shutdown.
Allow time to complete task before switching on again.
extrct:
""Screen Lights Up but No Display
"James- It's an anomaly that happens on occasion when the CPU doesn't boot but the screen is powered.
Turn it off and on again and 99.9% of the time it boots up fine.
I've never seen this turn off in flight or cause an issue.
The most important factor is that the RX be up to date with the latest V2.02 firmware.
If the radio was purchased recently and has firmware V1.08(1) in the transmitter then most likely it is.
I would suggest he call us so we can troubleshoot further. - Mike."

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:08 PM
  #4545
WILDCRASHWILLY
 
WILDCRASHWILLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Western KY
Posts: 981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

AT,

I have V2.02 in all of.my rx's and V1.08 in my A9. Everything seems to work as it should. I fly gas predominantly with some glow. No electrics. Is there any reason or benifit to upgrading to 1.09 in my case? Other than battery, I don't use telemetry.

Thanks for all the advice you post.
WILDCRASHWILLY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:26 PM
  #4546
Looper
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Archbald, PA
Posts: 71
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

HI, I had this happen to me just last weekend. It definitely got my attention as I assumed I left the transmitter on and killed the battery. After flipping the switch a few more times, the transmitter turned on and I flew with it 3 times. Looper
Looper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:32 PM
  #4547
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: WILDCRASHWILLY
AT, I have V2.02 in all of.my rx's and V1.08 in my A9.
Everything seems to work as it should. I fly gas predominantly with some glow.
No electrics. Is there any reason or benifit to upgrading to 1.09 in my case?
Other than battery, I don't use telemetry.
Thanks for all the advice you post.
Spectra module?
With V3.01 in module and given V2.02 in transceivers
(Miima receivershave their latest firmware and work only with Spectra V3.01 and above)
you do not need to update the Aurora to V1.09
. Aurora 9 - Firmware Updates V1.09. 20Sep12 - Advanced sensor station telemetry items added & timer issue fixed. .

With Aurora 9 left on V1.08, your timers counting up or down may be out several seconds over 5 minutes
and you are unable to use the HTS_Advance or any of the more recent telemetry add-ons.
Telemetry - Instruction Sheets & User Guide with pictures plus Enhancements Under Development.

Personally, all my own gear is kept upto date with the latest firmware to ensure any other little tweaks
which maynot beincluded in announcements are also loaded. - similar to keeping my PC security up to date.
. Hitec HPP-22 2.4GHz Programmer - Manual, FAQ - How to Install & Use
..(includes Screenshots & Current Firmware Versions for all related Units).

However, when updating any unit, one instruction in manual and repeated with each update, which must not be overlooked:
"After Update:
2. Check all Model Functions.
Aurora 9 programming is so flexible that no firmware designer could ever envisage and take into account
all the possible user settings and ensure that absolutely none will be effected during an upgrade and still get
the updates out in a timely cost effective manner. (especially free upgrades..)
Monitor screen assists check of each model.
Another reason recheck all functions each model is essential after an upgrade

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:59 PM
  #4548
WILDCRASHWILLY
 
WILDCRASHWILLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Western KY
Posts: 981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Thanks Alan,

I do have the 3.01 in the module and the 2.02 on all my rx's. However, as you have stated, I think I will go ahead and update the Tx although I may wait a few more weeks until my flying season at this location is essentially over. Fairly cold here the last week or so but, we still have a warm weekends sneak in on us occassionally. By the end of Dec. or the first of Jan. it will be strictly building season for me as I don't do the cold very well.

Again thank you,
WILDCRASHWILLY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:20 PM
  #4549
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


HPP-22 Upgrade to V1.14(0) now available.

HPP-22 Upgrade to V1.14(0) - procedure.
(Please note item 1. and uninstall the old version via the HPP-22 uninstall function, do not use windows uninstall)

Version Information.
HPP-22 V1.14(0)
1. HTS-VOICE Firmware update and Set up can be upgraded by HPP-22.

2. Firmware update for HTS-VOICE (Ver.1.04(0))!!
- HTS-Advance sensor voice.


Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:33 AM
  #4550
wkevinm
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System



Today I was finishing a new model and started to get the servos programmed and the receiver set up. I copied an existing model of similar airplane to a new model in memory position 10. I was allowed to create position 10, renamed it new a unique name and then when I tried to select it... nothing. I selected some other models, no problem, went back to position 10, but it will not select, nor will it allow me to delete it. I then copied and built models in positions 11 and 12 but agian I cannot select them, but I can delete these models.
so what I have now is

Model memory positions 1 through 9 are OK, I can select, have the option to delete.
Model memory position 10 I cannot select and I cannot delete
Model memory position 11 and 12 cannot be selected but can be deleted.

Has anyone faced this before, any ideas?

wkevinm
wkevinm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:15 AM.