RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 12:02 PM
  #4551
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: wkevinm
Today I was finishing a new model and started to get the servos programmed and the receiver set up. I copied an existing model of similar airplane to a new model in memory position 10. I was allowed to create position 10, renamed it new a unique name and then when I tried to select it... nothing. I selected some other models, no problem, went back to position 10, but it will not select, nor will it allow me to delete it. I then copied and built models in positions 11 and 12 but agian I cannot select them, but I can delete these models.
so what I have now is
Model memory positions 1 through 9 are OK, I can select, have the option to delete.
Model memory position 10 I cannot select and I cannot delete
Model memory position 11 and 12 cannot be selected but can be deleted.
Has anyone faced this before, any ideas? wkevinm
No previous report of such an instance, perhaps as happens repeatedly like typing in a wrong password,
the procdeure for deleting etc is missing a step which the mind is convinced was taken correctly.
A good sleep or walk around the block and suddenly all is often well with the world.
Following might assist:
. Aurora 9 - Model Number Reset or Delete..
. Aurora 9 - Programming Problem? - Parameters must be set in correct ordere.g. V_tail, see chart.

In need, email direct:
Hitec Warranty & Service - homepage.
Note: Hitec USA only services North/South America and Canada.
"Hitec USA customer service department is available Monday through Friday*
from 7am- 4:30 pm Pacific time. Reach us at 858.748.8440 or
service@hitecrcd.com any time you have a question"
• If you are from a country that is outside North and South America, please contact the
Hitec distributor in your country for service.

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:45 PM
  #4552
wkevinm
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

In trying to determine the issue I updated my transmitter from version 1.08 to 1.09, I also changed the transmitter so I had to select " yes "

So I deleted a model that I was not using from position 5 thus moving the one I could not select to position 9.
I tried to select, still nothing, then I found that the select screen was my problem here is what happens

the transmitter is set on model number 1, I want to select model 9
Step 1. move the cursor to model 9
Step 2. hit select
the screen moves and shows the screen with models 2 through 5
Step 3. hit select again
Then screen goes to the Model select confirm screen requesting my input.... done

the difference is I have to hit the select button 2X not only once
second test

the transmitter is on model 9, I want to move to model 2
I move to the model selction screen, model 9 is highlighted
Step 1. I move the cursor to model 2
Step 2. I hit he select button
Then screen goes to the Model select confirm screen requesting my input.... done



Another test
Transmitter is now on model 2, I want to select model 9
I move to the model selction screen, model 2 is highlighted
Step 1. I move the cursor to model 9
Step 2. hit select
the screen moves and shows the screen with models 2 through 5
Step 3. hit select again
Then screen goes to the Model select confirm screen requesting my input.... done
again I had to select the "select" button 2x

Another test
I created a model 10
Transmitter is now on model 9, I want to move to model 10
I move to the model selction screen, model 9 is highlighted
Step 1. I move the cursor to model 10
Step 2. hit select
the screen moves and shows the screen with models 3 through 6
Step 3. hit select again
Then screen goes to the Model select confirm screen requesting my input.... done

Another test
Transmitter is now on model 1 and I want to move to model 10
I move to the model selction screen, model 10 is highlighted
Step 1. I move the cursor to model 10
Step 2. hit select
the screen moves and shows the screen with models 1 through 4
Step 3. hit select again
no change
Step 4. hit select again
Then screen goes to the Model select confirm screen requesting my input.... done
This time it required selection of the "select" button 3 times

I repeated this test several times with varying results that being the select button needed to be presses 2 or 3 times to get the correct response always after the 1st pressing the screen changes.

I have sound on when a selection is made, so I know contact is being made... this is not a hardware issue, rather a software glitch.

another test
the transmitter is on model 1, I want to move to model 2
I move to the model selction screen, model 1 is highlighted
Step 1. I move the cursor to model 2
Step 2. I hit he select button
Then screen goes to the Model select confirm screen requesting my input.... done

again
the transmitter is on model 2, I want to move to model 3
I move to the model selction screen, model 2 is highlighted
Step 1. I move the cursor to model 3
Step 2. I hit he select button
screen blinks, model 3 is still highlighted, screen still with models 1 through 4
Step 3 , I hit the select button again
Then screen goes to the Model select confirm screen requesting my input.... done


I can live with this, however it appears to be a programming inconsistency.


wkevinm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:56 PM
  #4553
wkevinm
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

I have a question about dual rates and programming digital servos. I am using these servos on a racing airplane and once at speed they require very little aileron or elevator movement, so little that even on the shortest moment on the servo and longest practicle movement on the control surface reduced rates are required down to 40% on a non programmed servo for up or 10% for down elevator to achieve suitable control.

I have recently purchased a HP 21 servo programmer with some high voltage servos - 7245MH and 5087MH.

I can achieve limited servo travel by either programming end points via the HP-21 or by programming the dual rates in the transmitter. Is there a difference in resolution? I want as much resolution as I can get while working within the practicle mechanical limits.

wkevinm



wkevinm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:42 PM
  #4554
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Aurora 9X

Only photos currently available, still await full details.

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj21835.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	102.0 KB
ID:	1846189   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cx76778.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	1846190   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bh94784.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	110.7 KB
ID:	1846191  
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 05:57 PM
  #4555
Texastbird
 
Texastbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 1,215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Looks great, but I was hoping for a 11 or 12 X coming.
Texastbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:55 PM
  #4556
wkevinm
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Looks like the same radio with a bit more chrome, was hoping for something not as busy as the A9 Tx. I did see some specs that are better though... resolution is better, latency is improved.

When will these be available, presumably works along side A9 and current RX?

wkevinm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:07 PM
  #4557
Zor
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,525
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: A.T.

Aurora 9X

Only photos currently available, still await full details.

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
I wonder if some of you guys can read the text in two of these three pictures.
There would be no purpose to post if unreadable.

Anyone can read those lines ?

Zor
Zor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:18 PM
  #4558
wkevinm
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

I can read the text. It is clearer on wattflier
wkevinm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:34 AM
  #4559
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Zor
Quote:
ORIGINAL: A.T.

Aurora 9X
Only photos currently available, still await full details.
Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
I wonder if some of you guys can read the text in two of these three pictures.
There would be no purpose to post if unreadable.
Anyone can read those lines ? Zor
An easier to read extract attached hereto, right click and select to open in a new window.
Reader can then use the screen +&- feature to increase several fold.
Another has suggested that "SLT" could be linked to:
Tactic AnyLink SLT technology
Tactic AnyLink Aircraft

Alan T.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf98294.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	232.0 KB
ID:	1846320  
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:30 AM
  #4560
Wayne Miller
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DrumboOntario, CANADA
Posts: 1,285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Hi,

I'm able to read the specs in the last post when the picture is enlarged.

It does not say if it is compatible with the A9 receivers, but I'm guessing it is. Is it?

Also does it have removable frequency modules so we can plug in the original A9 synthesided 72 module?

Are the updates downloadable?

Can you easily switch Modes (1,2,3,4) ?

It may be too early yet for all the information, but I'll search the web to see what I can find.

Thanks for posting the information on the 9X.

Fly4Fun,

Wayne
Wayne Miller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:49 AM
  #4561
OldRookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

No module.

Greg
OldRookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:54 AM
  #4562
Zor
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,525
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: A.T.

An easier to read extract attached hereto, right click and select to open in a new window.
Reader can then use the screen +&- feature to increase several fold.
Another has suggested that "SLT" could be linked to:
Tactic AnyLink SLT technology
Tactic AnyLink Aircraft

Alan T.
Thanks Alan for a higher resolution image which I now can read.
The previous image was getting all out of focus upon enlargement.
Only people interested in this system would bother trying to read the specs.

Zor

Zor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:59 AM
  #4563
JohnBuckner
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,260
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

I am definately interested in this new unit and I am a happy user with my two A9's and a receiver count now of around 55.

It appears that they have not improved the screen to match even the easy to read color one used on the cheaper Eclipse Pro. That I could live with as I already have however what Hitec needs desperately is a cordless buddy system to at least match Futabas fantastic cordless buddy cord system.

Now what may seem like a minor feature/accessory to the majority of users is indeed a substancial improvement in the conduct of flight training. The A9,s have some wonderful features in there current system but are really Screwing the Pooch by not providing a cordless system to at least match Futaba's.

And I would ask any corporate types who may actually read this stuff to remember while a cordless system may not generate hugh sales of the cordless system itself but for us on the frontline of training out there we do tend to generate hugh sales of product and what is used on every field to considerable extent.

Hitec if your marketing research does not indicate your desparate need for a cordless buddy system then your research is flawed.



John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:09 AM
  #4564
JNorton
 
JNorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coopersville, MI
Posts: 4,322
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

I see little to recommend an upgrade. I'll stay with my A9 for now.
John
JNorton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:04 AM
  #4565
Texastbird
 
Texastbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 1,215
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

I have been waiting on a radio to come along to take the place of my trust Futaba 9C. With the Hitec 2.4 module and 9 channel receivers, this system has worked well for me. But I would be interested in the easier and more comprehensive programming options. Increased resolution sounds good but I don't know how that latency matches up with my setup. Probably somewhat better. Not being an early adopter type person, I will wait and see what the verdict is once they reach the field.
Texastbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:13 PM
  #4566
wkevinm
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 268
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

I was planning to buy a spare A9 TX and I will buy this radio if it is compatible with my Hitec receivers... about a dozen, 6,7 and 9's. If the system is not compatible I will shop for the best value and most reliable system. Which may bring me back to the A9x.

When will this system be available in North America?


wkevinm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:25 PM
  #4567
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: wkevinm
I was planning to buy a spare A9 TX and I will buy this radio if it is compatible with my Hitec receivers...
about a dozen, 6,7 and 9's. If the system is not compatible I will shop for the best value and most reliable system. Which may bring me back to the A9x.
When will this system be available in North America?
There is nothing under the comparison to say it is not compatible and can see no reason why it would not be,
especially given an older post:.
. Sorry, no official announcements at this time.
However, any new radios released in the future will be backwards compatible.
- Mike 03 April 2012.

Alan T.

A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:31 PM
  #4568
4*60
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Shuswap, BC,
Posts: 1,738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

That was quite a statement.  Obviously it's not 72Mhz backwards compatible.  Fine but not conforming to that statement.  Assuming is a little dangeroous.
4*60 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 01:59 PM
  #4569
oliveDrab
 
oliveDrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

omg. This thread has 179 pages. Ok, so without reading all 179 pages, would any of you recommend the Hitec Aurora over the other brands?

Thanks.
oliveDrab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:28 PM
  #4570
OldRookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Really...This is a Hitec thread.

Greg
OldRookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:28 PM
  #4571
JohnBuckner
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,260
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Yes I would and I use two Aurora 9's and have somewhere around fifty five plug and play aircraft all with hitec 7 and 9 channel receivers.

Recently completed a long over water flight of 48 miles on the colorado river and the fuel remaining and ground speed telemetry was most usefull.

I teach a lot of primary and use mostly my own airplane with the A9's but in cases where some may have different systems I will offer a loaner Hitec 2.4 Rx to use in his airplane untill after solo. This allows full access to the wonderful Hitec buddy cord features. Of course the only area they are screwing the pooch is the lack of a cordless buddy system.

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:31 PM
  #4572
JohnBuckner
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,260
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Yes really, oliveDrab was asking a legitimate question about Hitec!

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:37 PM
  #4573
OldRookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,380
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Ya right....asking in a Hitec thread if anyone would recommend Hitec.
Ridiculous.

Greg
OldRookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 03:44 PM
  #4574
bigedmustafa
Thread Starter
 
bigedmustafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 4,101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: oliveDrab

omg. This thread has 179 pages. Ok, so without reading all 179 pages, would any of you recommend the Hitec Aurora over the other brands?

Thanks.
Hi oliveDrab,

I'd highly recommend the Aurora 9. I have a number of flying buddies who are very happy with the ease of program, flexibility, and reliability of their Hitec Aurora 9 radio systems. It's a truly innovative radio platform that has forced all of the "big" radio manufacturers to play catchup with Hitec. You have to spend triple or quadruple the price of the Aurora 9 to get touchscreen programming from another manufacturer.

I fly Airtronics myself, and I really like all of my Airtronics 2.4Ghz radio gear (SD-10g, SD-6g, two RDS8000 radio systems). If I were shopping for a new radio platform, however, the Aurora 9 would be right at the top of my list.
bigedmustafa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:12 PM
  #4575
oliveDrab
 
oliveDrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Thanks bigedmustafa and JohnBuckner for answering my question. And OldRookie............help yourself to some yellow snow.
oliveDrab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:24 AM.