RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Reply
Old 05-17-2009, 02:22 PM
  #26
Alex7403
 
Alex7403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New york, NY
Posts: 1,594
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

what is that cable on the back?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl29673.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	50.0 KB
ID:	1200398  
Alex7403 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 02:43 PM
  #27
vasek
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,082
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

thats the external antena link to the module like spektrum modules
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 05:08 PM
  #28
MikeMayberry
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System



Yes, just push and hold the icon as shown in the picture.

Alex7403- Hitec 2.4Ghz receivers will start at $49.99 for the 6Ch, then $69.99 for the 7Ch and only $99.99 for the top of the line 9Ch.

Since the Aurora is module based to allow the use of 72Mhz as well the 2.4Ghz antenna is run externally.

Mike.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh17008.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	1200489  
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 11:22 AM
  #29
Eplane65
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Zephyrhills, FL
Posts: 193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

I only wish that this new Hitec radio came out a year ago, because I've already bought JR stuff with many Spektrum receivers. I used to have an Optic 6 and it was so user friendly when programming. The JR 9303 is impossible to figure out and I thought I was a little computer savvy. At least Hitec povides the features that I have suggested to them: 9 channels, 30 model memory. This is a good deal.
Eplane65 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 01:10 PM
  #30
fizzwater2
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Mike - does it have cross trim capability? 


fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 06:19 PM
  #31
aa2dd
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Frostproof, FL
Posts: 486
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System



Mike ... is the Aurora 9 going to be available in 72 MHz?

Bruce

aa2dd
aa2dd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 05:22 AM
  #32
Pippin
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 671
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

...the price for the Tx is 409,- in Germany. But you can not buy it yet.

Here is a video link to the but unfortunately in some German dialect:
http://www.airmix.de/modules/forms_p...e292501c26.wmv
Pippin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 05:25 AM
  #33
Pippin
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 671
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Wow, the Tx has got a fuel gauge!
Pippin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 11:55 AM
  #34
MikeMayberry
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System



fizzwater- Cross trims... I can't find an option for that?



aa2dd- Yes, there will be a 72mhz version but the most popular version that the shops will stock will be the 2.4gz w/7ch RX. You can always add the Spectra Pro Synthesized module to it to operate your 72mhz stuff.



Mike.

MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 01:12 PM
  #35
fizzwater2
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,722
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Darn, that was the feature I liked best on my old pro-line radio. Especially with the elevator trim located in the upper left of the case, where your left thumb had no trouble finding it. It was great being able to reach the trim levers without having to let go of the right stick (mode 2). Nothing has been quite as convenient since.


fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 04:22 PM
  #36
beenie
 
beenie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Baton Rouge , LA
Posts: 417
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System



Will the TX accept regular 72mhz single frequency modules or is it just the Spectra?



Ben

beenie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 04:26 PM
  #37
djlyon
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 2,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Fizz ,That's just cuz you race pylon. Boy I sure would like that feature for trimming a 428.
djlyon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 10:31 PM
  #38
MikeMayberry
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System



The Spectra Pro is the only compatible 72Mhz module; It will synthesize any channel and is selectable through the software. Existing modules are not compatible.



Mike.

MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 12:57 AM
  #39
tadawson
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 669
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Well, that's a bummer . . . . I was under the impression that both Hitec and Futaba RFmodules would fit, and thus correct the omission of 50MHz support on the Aurora. Since this now means that the Aurora would appear to have no support path for 50MHz, Ijust found reason to take it off my candidate list . . . . . drat! Looked good otherwise . . . .

-Tim
tadawson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 01:14 AM
  #40
MikeMayberry
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System



What's the advantage of 50mhz... you have a bunch of RX's?



Mike.

MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 09:40 AM
  #41
zx32tt
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Locust, NC
Posts: 679
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Can I use the fm module from my Futaba 9C in the Aurora 9 and use all my 72mhz fm receivers, or do I have to use a specific Hitec fm module?
zx32tt
zx32tt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 09:44 AM
  #42
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

You can only use the Hitec Spectra Pro Synthesizer RF Module. This allows you to Dial In any 72Mhz channel. It will work with what ever 72Mhz Rx's are compatible with the Hitec Tx.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 11:38 PM
  #43
IJAA
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: , GA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Ireally like this radio and I also really want triple rates. It seems many people want triple rates. So why would you guys choose to leave out triple rates on the Ailerons, elevator, and rudder?
IJAA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 12:20 AM
  #44
tadawson
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 669
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: MikeMayberry



What's the advantage of 50mhz... you have a bunch of RX's?



Mike.


Requires a license to be there, so no boneheads. No interference - not a shared band, exclusive allocate to HAM radio so no chance of park flyer shootdowns. None of the 2.4G bogosity being in a very crowded band with insane numbers of part-15 (as well as unlicensed) stuff that is of very low quality and questionable spectral purity, not to mention the far more quirky propagation with regard to nulls and shadowing on 2.4G. And on 50, with my HAM license, I can legally work on anything I own - none of the outdated frequency change rules that plague 72.

Frankly, I regard 50MHz as more reliable and suitable for my needs than anything 2.4G . . . . and yes, I have a number of receivers as well, but that isn't the primary reason.

I just have no desire to be a 2.4G lemming at this time - it offers me nothing better than what I have now on 50 . . . .

- Tim
tadawson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 12:39 AM
  #45
MikeMayberry
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System




IJAA- There are two three position switches that can be assigned to rates, but moreover there are eitht flight conditions that can have a specific rate assigned to each for up to 24 total on two surfaces and 16 on the other. Is that enough?



Quote:
ORIGINAL: tadawson


None of the 2.4G bogosity being in a very crowded band with insane numbers of part-15 (as well as unlicensed) stuff that is of very low quality and questionable spectral purity, not to mention the far more quirky propagation with regard to nulls and shadowing on 2.4G.
- Tim
tadawson- Holly cow... Geek factor levels off the chart! Iam not worthy!!! Just giving you a hard time... no offence. Seriously though, you could probably adapt a Futaba 50mhz module, you just have to match up the pin outs. By the way, our 2.4 system does not suffer from the woes you describe so eloquently.

Mike

MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 12:54 AM
  #46
djlyon
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 2,492
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Sorry Mike but unless your 2.4 system defies the laws of physics it does suffer from the woes tadawson so eloquently describes especially here in the Los Angeles  basin.

Denis
djlyon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 06:46 AM
  #47
jonkoppisch
 
jonkoppisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,688
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Looks like a nice radio.  I fly futaba but 1 thing that I really like about the jr radio is the analog throttle trim.  I'm surprised that more manufacturers haven't done this on their new radios as it seems to be a very popular, easy option..
jonkoppisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 08:44 AM
  #48
IJAA
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: , GA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System


Quote:
ORIGINAL: MikeMayberry




IJAA- There are two three position switches that can be assigned to rates, but moreover there are eitht flight conditions that can have a specific rate assigned to each for up to 24 total on two surfaces and 16 on the other. Is that enough?



Quote:
ORIGINAL: tadawson


None of the 2.4G bogosity being in a very crowded band with insane numbers of part-15 (as well as unlicensed) stuff that is of very low quality and questionable spectral purity, not to mention the far more quirky propagation with regard to nulls and shadowing on 2.4G.
- Tim
tadawson- Holly cow... Geek factor levels off the chart! Iam not worthy!!! Just giving you a hard time... no offence. Seriously though, you could probably adapt a Futaba 50mhz module, you just have to match up the pin outs. By the way, our 2.4 system does not suffer from the woes you describe so eloquently.

Mike


Mike,
Flight conditions help but they aren't triple rates which I do like. It does appear that for the money you guys have managed to realy do well though. That's why I am so interested. Would you elaborate on how the flight conditions work. First, how do you switch between them in flight? Second, are the settings tied into switch settings or are they independently programmed? Thanks,
John

IJAA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 09:25 AM
  #49
tadawson
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 669
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

Quote:
By the way, our 2.4 system does not suffer from the woes you describe so eloquently.
Soirry Mike, but as djiyon pointed out, you can't *NOT* be affected.

2.4G propagation characteristics are things you can't control - they come with the band.

The high volume of questionable part-15 devices as well as other unlicensed devices sharing the band with you you can't control - the FCC has made 2.4G a pure free for all.

I am sure that Hitec has done a good job implementing their system - I just take exception to the use of 2.4 *period* due to all the issues with the band . . . . and the constant influx of more and more stuff crowding it and raising the noise floor even more every day!

Regardign using a Futaba module, would the Aurora software run OK without seeing a "smart" module from a software point of view?

- Tim
tadawson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 09:49 AM
  #50
A Betancourt
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mexico, D.F., MEXICO
Posts: 183
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: New Hitec Aurora 9-Channel 2.4Ghz Radio System

It sure looks like a great radio, I have a question, How about the gimbals quality, are the gimbals ball bearing supported? if so, How many ball bearings?

Thanks.

Alfredo
A Betancourt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:46 PM.