RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Best radio for helicopters and airplanes?

Old 03-26-2002, 04:08 PM
Sawyer692-RCU
My Feedback: (6)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Best radio for helicopters and airplanes?

I'm a plane pilot looking to get into helicopters this summer. I need to upgrade from my Hitec Flash 5x but I want a radio that will do both helicopters and planes. I know their are several out there and I also know helicopter radios will control airplanes as well as helis, but I want computer mixes for both. I've been looking at the Hitec Eclipse and the Futaba 9C series. What do you think?

Thanks in advance, Mike
Old 03-28-2002, 04:02 PM
Sawyer692-RCU

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Come on, can any radio buffs help me out?
Old 03-28-2002, 05:20 PM
MikeL
My Feedback: (3)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

An 8103 or Futaba 9 would be worth looking at. I started out with helis on an Airtronics RD6000 (which has some really, really, unique features. It's the best 6 out there by far), moved up to a JR783, and now use a JR8103 (the best mid to high-end system out there, IMO). Just kept needing more channels.
Old 03-28-2002, 05:43 PM
Unstable

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I have the Fut 9c heli version and am really happy with it.

Right now I am setting it up for my hanger 9 piper cub that Im assembling and it has eveything I need (and more)

so the 9c is an excelent choice for both...

I dont know which version is better for you (heli or plane) it probably depends on your flying style

You can visit the futaba faq http://www.futabarc.com/faq/ for info about the diffrences between the heli and plane versions (mostly just a few swiches swapped to diffrent places and no ratchet on the throttle)