RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

y-harness

Reply

Old 06-20-2003, 12:19 PM
  #1  
why2cay
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: columbus, OH
Posts: 12
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default y-harness

I have a Futaba 3FR fm radio. I am in the process of finishing a plane with aileron servos in the wings. will the y harness allow me to run both servos on one channel. Sorry to ask such a basic question?


Steve
why2cay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 01:00 PM
  #2  
KJohn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Medina, OH
Posts: 264
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default y-harness

A 'Y' harness will distribute the same receiver connection to two different servos. The pulse signal it transfers to the attached servos will be exactly the same. So a 'simple' answer is 'yes'.

However ...

This is a simple solution to making two servos work from one channel. You might need a more complicated arrangement. For example, a servo in the right wing might need to operate in the reverse direction as the one in the left wing. The 'Y' harness will not make that happen since both servos attached to the 'Y' harness are handed the same 'pulse' changes. If you have a servo reversing switch on the transmitter and you change that switch then it will reverse BOTH servos which does not solve the problem. The solution here would be to take one of the servos apart and reverse the direction of that servo internally. This is somewhat complicated for most people.

If your system is set up so that you can plug in the 'Y' cable and you can adjust the linkage so that the correct travel will exist for each aileron then you can use the 'Y' cable without any major concerns.

If the cables going to the servos in the wings have a significant distance to travel (if they are LONG cables) then another concern would be that the long cables would pick up stray RF from other sources and cause control problems, generally 'gliching' movement of the servos. The solution for this would be the use some type of 'RF CHOKE' around the wires to attempt to eliminate the RF from traveling on the wires. These are generally found already existing in 'servo extension cables' commercially manufactured. Usually the 'RF CHOKE' looks like a small round ring that is made of special material and there is one on each end of the extension. The ring is called a 'TOROID'. The cables are wrapped around the toroid. These 'CHOKE' off RF frequency signals that may attempt to travel on the wires.
KJohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 01:22 PM
  #3  
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)
 
FLYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 9,036
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default y-harness

I use extensions up to 36 inches with no chokes. Don't worry about it. You won't have a problem.

Set the servos up so the arms on on opposite sides and your Y connection will do what you want.
FLYBOY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 01:40 PM
  #4  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default y-harness

It's quite common to use Y-extensions for ailerons. Just set them up as mirror images of each other to get the right travel in the right direction. However, this won't work if you want Flaperon or Elevon funtions.

(click thumbnails for larger images)

or
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy