Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Help: FP-R4F Mode-II

Hi all,
    My name is Jason. I am a RC airplane beginner. I was given an old airplane. I try to make it work. I check and found out that I have a Futaba 72.320 mhz, 4 channel Receiver, model is FP-R4F Mode II. I saw the crystal is TX 72.320 as well. Does anyone know what channel for this 72.320 Mhz? What kind of battery do I use for this receiver?
    Also, if I want to use my FM radio, what do I do?
    Please help.
    Jason Nguyen
    nguyen_js@yahoo.com

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Jason - I have bad news for you. That frequency is no longer legal to use. It is left over from before the change to the new frequencies in 1991. It is smack-dab in between channels 26 & 27.
    I try to learn from other people\'s mistakes...
    I won\'t live long enough to make them all myself.

Dennis aka Strato911
    MAAC 43408

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Also, since that receiver used the old G-style sevo connectors, modern servos and batteries will not pug into it without modifications.

For the hassle of changing plugs, and knowing you're opperating on an illegal frequency with a wide-band transmitter (also illegal), you are best to bite the bullet and purchase a new (or used, but newer) radio system.

Sorry to have to break the news...

Dennis aka Strato911
    MAAC 43408

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Dennis,
    Thanks for your response. That is bad news.
    As you said, I have to change receiver and servo and radio control to the new mordern ones right. Can I re-use the servos though?