RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Torque ?

Reply

Old 03-28-2002, 07:54 PM
  #1  
TheEdge
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (787)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bonita, CA
Posts: 896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Torque ?

Is there a way to calculate necassary torque to control a throw surface.

It seems very popular to get the highest torque possible servo for these surfaces. Giant scale, OR NOT.

I'm just not sure if this is a calculated guestimation when it comes to laod factor or just keeping up with what is trendy
TheEdge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2002, 09:26 PM
  #2  
MikeMayberry
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
MikeMayberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Poway, CA
Posts: 3,531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Torque ?

http://www.csd.net/~cgadd/eflight/calcs_servo.htm
MikeMayberry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2002, 10:04 PM
  #3  
EJJK
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Torque ?

A general "rule of thumb" would be to use a servo in oz. in. of torque that matches the surface area in sq. in. of the control surface you want to drive. For example:

Surface area of one elevator=75 sq. in.
Suggested servo power for this elevator=75 oz. in. of torque

This should put you in the ballpark. Hope this helps.
EJJK is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service