Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Clarification on RX, TX, and ESC

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2013, 09:53 PM
Matthewjshattuck

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Clarification on RX, TX, and ESC

Okay so I need some help here. Being a noob when it comes to rc I have very little knowledge when it comes to this stuff. I know a TX is your transmitter (mine is 6ch) and your RX is your receiver (the thing that receives commands from your transmitter) and your ESC stands for electric speed controller. Great. So my question is, when you buy an atf or plug and play rc (ill use a plane for exampe) you need a tx and a rx. You plug in the rx and your ready to fly right? What if your no brand 2.4 ghz transmitter didnt come with a receiver, then can you just buy a 2.4 ghz one for it? Thanks in advance.
Old 08-08-2013, 12:22 AM
chuckk2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Your "no brand" 2.4 TX must use a compatible receiver.
Even within a brand, there can be compatibility issues.
The 2.4G systems typically use more than one channel, may frequency hop, and so forth.
Each scheme is generally not compatible with a different one.
For instance JR has two DSM2 and DSMX. A third one unique to JR is not compatible with Spectrum,
although the first two are compatible.

Futaba has more than one scheme as well.

(And so on!)
Old 08-08-2013, 12:39 AM
A.T.

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Matthewjshattuck
Okay so I need some help here.
Being a noob when it comes to rc I have very little knowledge when it comes to this stuff. I know a TX is your transmitter (mine is 6ch) and your RX is your receiver
(the thing that receives commands from your transmitter) and your ESC stands for electric speed controller. Great. So my question is, when you buy an atf or plug
and play rc (ill use a plane for exampe) you need a tx and a rx.