RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Digital servos on 6 volts

Reply

Old 03-29-2002, 11:40 PM
  #1  
cgb6810
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Digital servos on 6 volts

Im using digitals for the first time, Futaba 9252's on elevator and a multiplex Jumbo on the rudder. I installed 2-MPI miracle switches with voltage regulators with the intent of using 2-5 cell packs. When I run the 5 cell pack I get jitters with the 9252's and the Jumbo won't even work. If I run a 4 cell pack both servos work fine? I thought the regulated switch would handle any high voltage problem?

I don't have a problem using 4 cells but wonder if this is the norm for the digitals.

Thanks for your response.
Chris
cgb6810 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2002, 01:58 AM
  #2  
Wings-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Wings-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Digital servos on 6 volts

I don't think it's a "high voltage problem", I think it's a voltage regulator problem, or your transmitter is being held too close to you reciever.

Did you try it without a voltage regulator switch? All of the newer digitals that I know of are designed to work at 6v. Putting in a voltage regulator will only reduce your servo toque & speed.

None, Nada, Zero of the last TOC pilots used voltage regulators, and they all ran 6 volts. (Nicads or Duralites) Try it you might like it. Don't be fooled by the switch manufactures advertisements.
Wings-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2002, 02:00 PM
  #3  
cgb6810
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default digitals on 6 volts

Yep, I tried it with and without a switch. I tried using the MPI unregulated switch. Keep in mind I'm running 2 switches and I tried both. Anytime I run the 5 cell pack I have problems. Less with the Futaba(just gittery at full throw) but the Multiplex will not work at all on the 5 cell pack.

Chris
cgb6810 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2002, 10:40 PM
  #4  
Wings-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Wings-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Digital servos on 6 volts

oooooh, somthing doesn't sound right. How old is your receiver, and what kind is it?. I don't have any experience with Multiplex, But I would certainly think that they would work at 6 volts.
Wings-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2002, 01:23 AM
  #5  
Bob Pastorello
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Regulators?

Here's my experience- since the JR 8411's and 8231's have come out...they do NOT like the FULL charge on a 5 cell pack. Neither did the regulators that I used clean it up enough. Going to 4 cell packs cleaned up things on my planes! I know what various manf and switch/regulator manf say, but - my "digital experience" says "Use a 4 cell pack"....and I have, and things are LOTS better. PPM or PCM, PCM rx or PPM rx, no differences when running the 5 cells...they all ran better on the 4 cell.
Bob Pastorello is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2002, 05:26 PM
  #6  
goatnick
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Demotte, IN
Posts: 113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Digital servos on 6 volts

Chris,
Just give MPI a call and ask for Jarvis.I had the same problem as you and found that they had gotten some bad regulators.I was using Hi Tech 5945 Dig. a 2700 NiMh 5 cell pack and the regulator, turning the radio on the servos would lock in a down position,With a 4cell pack all was normal.I even sent Radio in for check up.If you are flying Futaba gear dont even use a regulator,something else to go wrong.Hope this helps Bob
goatnick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2002, 04:12 AM
  #7  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,422
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Digital servos on 6 volts

Been using the 8411, 8231, 8401, 368, 3421, 2401, 361.....all digital JR servo's with the 6 volt+ duralite....950S AND 940s receivers, with out problems.......the only one that give a lot of problem are the 7005 they jump quite abit at full charge.

Daniel D.
Dansy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service