RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

Reply

Old 03-30-2002, 09:25 PM
  #1  
UK Exile
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK, Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

I've just bought used Hitec Prism 7X (returning to RC planes on a tight budget) & am interested in using the trainer facility. I assume with standard connection lead it has to be another Hitec transmitter but is it possible to make custom leads to connect to Futaba ? Futaba is very very dominant brand in UK, with few Hitec sets around so a basic used Futaba transmitter is going to be much much easier & also likely cheaper to get than Hitec.
Is it possible ? Any websites with details of the required cable connections ?
UK Exile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2002, 09:58 PM
  #2  
Jaguar-RCU
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New England
Posts: 60
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

Hi Exile, I think its futaba compatible. I trained with a hitec focus radio and futaba buddy box/cord. There were no problems. Obviously check things out on the ground first! I'm sure others here may have a difinitive answer....you can also "ask mike" on the hitecrcd web page.
Jaguar-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2002, 10:21 PM
  #3  
UK Exile
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK, Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

I had thought of posting the question on the ask Futaba or ask Hitec forum but didn't know how good the answers may be on interconnection issues.
I certainly don't want to buy something & find it doesn't work or worse, buy something & then it causes damage !
UK Exile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2002, 02:01 AM
  #4  
kurt64
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: willaimsport, PA
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

I have used a Hitec to train guys with Futaba gear and a guy used his Futaba to train me when i first started. The only thing you have to watch is that the Hitec when used as the slave transmitter, will actuall have power while plugged in....I dont know for sure if it is actually transmitting or not, but it is safer just to pull the frequency pin for that radio also while at the field.
kurt64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2002, 06:58 AM
  #5  
UK Exile
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK, Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

so Hitec & Futaba both use the same plugs ?
Therefore I can just buy either a Hitec or Futaba training lead ?
UK Exile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2002, 01:00 PM
  #6  
kurt64
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: willaimsport, PA
Posts: 66
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

I have always used the Hitec cord....it is polorized and can only be plugged in a certain way. One end is marked master and the other marked trainer if I remember correctly.
kurt64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2002, 03:38 PM
  #7  
UK Exile
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK, Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

Looks like I stumbled across just what's needed. Found this page
http://www.glasgow-barnstormers.org.uk/howto.htm which conveniently have huge numbers of links, some of which detail buddy box leads & how to make

http://www.welwyn.demon.co.uk/buddy.htm
http://www.uoguelph.ca/~antoon/gadgets/futfm.htm


the main page has heas of useful links, worth a look for all
UK Exile is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2002, 06:33 PM
  #8  
Steve Lewin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Reading, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 904
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

You can use either lead but if you use a Futaba lead with a Hitec Tx as SLAVE it is important to take the crystal out of the slave transmitter. Otherwise you will find that BOTH Txs are transmitting RF at the same time. This is not a good thing !

The Hitec lead solves this, provided you connect it the right way round. The main difference is that pins 4 and 5 are not connected on the MASTER/INSTRUCTOR end of a Hitec lead and on the SLAVE/STUDENT end they are shorted together. That's what stops it transmitting.

Steve
Steve Lewin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2002, 06:41 AM
  #9  
UK Exile
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK, Newcastle upon Tyne
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec to Futaba trainer cable, possible ?

thanks for thr extra info. The Hitec Prism X will certainly be the master, I'll be getting the cheapest possible as the slave & with Futaba being so diminant in UK, it will almost certainly be a smaiple old Futaba 4 channel set
UK Exile is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service