Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Newbie Radio Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2009, 06:39 PM
dangerguy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Radio Question

Hi, I'm fairly new to flying RC planes. In fact, Ijust recently successfully landed my Wing Dragon 4, after about 8-10 brutal crashes.

I'm currently using a cheap 72 MHz radio that came with my plane, and I'm looking to upgrade. Idon't want to spend a lot of money, but I also don't want to outgrow the new radio quickly. Iknow next to nothing about radios and I'm trying to decide between the Spektrum DX5e and the Spektrum DX6i. Do Ireally need more than 5 channels? Does the DX6i have a lot of features that the DX5e doesn't? Also, I'm assuming Iwould want to buy the receiver with the radio? Do Ihave to use the receiver with Bind and Fly planes, or can Ijust program the radio with the plane's receiver info?Sorry if these are dumb questions

Thanks for any input!

-E

Old 12-26-2009, 06:48 PM
ggraham500
My Feedback: (4)

Default RE: Newbie Radio Question

Get the best 2.4GHz transmitter you can afford. Futaba & JR/Spectrum stand out. Hitec and Airtronics have quality radios, too.

Personally I stay with Futaba because I'm very familiar with the radio software and performance issues. And I really like the FASST FHSS technology.

My 2 cents.
Old 12-26-2009, 08:20 PM
blvdbuzzard

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Between the 2 radio's I would say the DX6I. You did not list the price you were looking at. I fly Airtronics and would say to look at the RD8000 before you put your money down.

http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/751700.asp

No matter what radio you get in the 2.4G, you will be locked into that brand of Rx. For the most part, all servos work with every brand of radio. There are a few out there that do not work with other, but they are becoming fewer and fewer.

Dru.