Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Just How Many Channels Do You Need?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2010, 07:34 PM
krashkart
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just How Many Channels Do You Need?

I am a rookie. I have never flown anything with more than 4 channels needed.
I am looking at upgrading radios and I seem to find a lot of folks want 7 channel or more radios.
I know if I get retractable landing gear I would need another channel.
So why so many channels?
Old 03-02-2010, 08:01 PM
ggraham500
My Feedback: (4)

Default RE: Just How Many Channels Do You Need?

This really depends on your "style" of flying. So what kind of radio? ... I would suggested a 8 - 10 channel to allow yourself room to grow and not have wasted any money.

I like warbirds such as WWI biplanes, WWII single engine with retracts and also some classic sports like Taylorcraft or SuperCubs or RV-4. I typically use 6-7 channels: 1-2 ailerons, 1-2 elevator, 1 flaps, 1 retracts, 1 throttle, 1 battery split with voltwatch, 1 for a "locator" would be full load. I can put the battery on any channel. Same with the locator and voltwatch. I could y-harness the ailerons and elevators ... so I typically use a R617FS receiver with my Futaba 10CG 2.4GHz transmitter. If I need more channels then I would use a R614HS receiver.

My 2 cents.
Old 03-02-2010, 08:14 PM
Lnewqban

At the beginning of times, people flew with no channels (Free flight and Control line), then with one, then with two, then with three, and more recently, with four.
Four channels is simple and practical enough for almost everything, being the functions of the four movements of the two sticks.

Additional channels are not proportional controls like the sticks (except some for flaps), but they are switches or dials for any use that the pilot may want to have.