Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Which radio to get...hmmmm

Old 03-06-2010, 07:53 PM
doublesixes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which radio to get...hmmmm

I have been using a DX7 for almost 3 years with spectacular results. My planes range from 110 watts 3s to 50cc gas with everything in between.
About the only complaint that I have is the lack of throttle curve. A big bummer

Last week I started shopping for a new 2.4 system to add, as a backup for the Spektrum, so I initiated a through research of similar or better products.
My initial interest was the brand new JR 9503. Neat radio, with sophisticated features, including a 7 point throttle curve. It looked like the likely candidate until I found the fatal flaw, a mechanical throttle trim. I will not have it any other way than all digital trims.

I was really bummed by that discovery as staying with the JR/Spektrum camp implied total compatibility with my current investment in 2.4 receivers.

Next was the gorgeous Aurora from Hitec. Great radio, but lacking 2 must-have features: modelmatch and servosync. Thanks but no thanks Hitec.

The only remaining offerings are from Futaba. A nice line of all digital radios but none of them offer modelmatch and servosync that I'm aware of so I have to decline.

It looks like the lowly DX7 remains the handicapped champion. I just wished they had programmed it with a throttle curve function. Maybe they can provide a software update to include that? I hope it could be done.
Old 03-06-2010, 08:54 PM
AJsToyz

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Which radio to get...hmmmm

Does the DX7 SE have any of the features you are looking for ?

As far as the model match goes I'm with you, I really like it but the Aurora does not broadcast until you tell it to. This gives you the time to double check to make sure you have the correct model.