RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba 8UA question

Reply

Old 03-08-2010, 08:45 PM
  #1  
Tcat1000
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Tcat1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ludington, MI
Posts: 180
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba 8UA question

Hi............Just installed the Futaba 2.4 conversion in my 8UA TX. Do I have to unscrew & remove the old collapsable antenna or just lleave it in? I have installed the 2.4 kit & it works fine, but am worried about the OEM antenna maybe causing problems. ???????????????????

Thanks in advance

Tcat
Tcat1000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 12:08 AM
  #2  
Bozarth
My Feedback: (15)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,297
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 8UA question

Leave it in. No signal is passing through it if you have the 2.4 module installed.

Kurt
Bozarth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 03:30 PM
  #3  
rt3232
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: hastings, MN
Posts: 5,953
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 8UA question



It is ok to take it out but be sure to plug the hole.

Bob T
rt3232 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 04:15 PM
  #4  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 8UA question

If you do switch totally to 2.4Ghz and want to remove the buggy whip as I did, check your local hardware store, my True Value had a selection of black plastic trim plugs that fit my 9C like they were made for it[8D]
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 07:52 PM
  #5  
Tcat1000
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (34)
 
Tcat1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ludington, MI
Posts: 180
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba 8UA question

Thanks for the replies. Now that it was mentioned, I remember having some black plastic plugs that should work for plugging the hole. Out it comes................

Thanks again

Tcat
Tcat1000 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service