RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Airtronics RX Crystal Question

Reply

Old 03-21-2010, 01:42 PM
  #1  
bsumrell
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: edenton, NC
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Airtronics RX Crystal Question

Have just purchased an Airtronics RD-8000 Tx with (2) 92778 dual conversion narrow band receivers, all on ch 49. In my plane now, I have an Airtronics 92777 dual conversion narrow band rx on ch17. My question is, can I swap out just the ch 17 crystal for the ch 49 in my old rx and be ok or do I need to swap out the whole rx for one of the newer ones? Have heard that some receivers need to be retuned after a crystal swap. Thanks for any advice, Bryan
bsumrell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 02:00 PM
  #2  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX Crystal Question

Hi Bryan,
Yes you can.
Just make sure to get an Airtronics dual conversion crystal for channel 49 and you're good to go, well after doing a range check that is
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 02:10 PM
  #3  
bsumrell
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: edenton, NC
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX Crystal Question

Thanks Pete. To be honest my rx in the plane now is wrapped up and tucked away pretty good but I can get to the crystal ok. My plan for now was to pull 1 of the crystals out of the new rx and put it in the old rx. It would be easier to do that rather than swap out the whole rx. Will this work? Thanks, Bryan
bsumrell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 06:59 PM
  #4  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX Crystal Question

Yes, you can do that. Since all the receivers and crystals you have are Airtronics dual conversion, should work fine. Bad range checks and glitching issues tend to happen when folks try switching any old crystal they have lying around without regard to what type of receiver they were meant to be used in.
Good luck,
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 07:49 PM
  #5  
bsumrell
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: edenton, NC
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Airtronics RX Crystal Question

Thanks for the advice Pete
bsumrell is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service