Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Difference btwn PCM and FM (PPM) ???

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2003, 04:24 AM
bimmer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Difference btwn PCM and FM (PPM) ???

Hi , newbie here.

As above. Anyone can fillm e in ?
Old 07-16-2003, 04:28 AM
Aeromodeler

Do a quick search and you will find enough reading material on this subject to keep you busy for a month.......
Here's a nice little page that will help with a lot of questions...
I'm sure someone will chime in and correct the lock out statement though!!!!!!!!
http://www.jmack.net/html/rcmodels/pulsecode/
Old 07-16-2003, 04:57 AM
bimmer

ah...
i kinda understand..

basically both are FM , just that one is analog and the other is digital

thanx for the link !
Old 07-16-2003, 06:47 AM
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)

Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts

The difference between PPM and PCM has narrowed now that PPM with programmable failsafe is available.

Harry
Old 07-16-2003, 08:16 AM
bimmer

hmm thanks for the additional point Harry.
Old 07-16-2003, 09:42 AM
Geistware
My Feedback: (16)

The functional difference is that PPM will execute any signal received while PCM will validate that the signal was from a transmitter before it is executed.
Old 07-16-2003, 11:11 AM
Steve Lewin

Originally posted by Geistware
The functional difference is that PPM will execute any signal received while PCM will validate that the signal was from your transmitter before it is executed.
Nice idea but unfortunately not really true. There is no validation at the level of individual transmitters.

It only checks that it's from a transmitter like yours i.e. any Futaba PCM Tx at all on the correct channel will control a Futaba PCM Rx, two on at once will interfere with one another etc.

I'm sure that's what you intended to say .

Steve
Old 07-16-2003, 02:49 PM
strato911