RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

radio glitching

Reply

Old 04-01-2010, 07:19 AM
  #1  
GaryBarry
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kwazulu Natal, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 61
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitching

Hi there I have a radio that I am using with a receiver that, to be honest, has been a bit through the wars (whilst still learning the art of flying/crashing). However with three of the original servos in it is absolutely fine and passes the range test. However, with a no name brand servo that I picked up from a hobby shop when I was a bit desparate to fly fitted as an aileron servo, there is very wierd glitching happening. Almost like 'mixing' between the aileron and rudder, as well as a bit of elevator, but not mixing in a good way!! More like a sort of 'kick' from the rudder when the ailerons are operated.

Now my question is is it the radio or the servo? As I said when I replace the servo with a JR or HITEC there is no problem. Could it be that I need new crystals? It is a FM radio, I think 35.010 or something like that!! I don't want to spend money that I don't need to but I also can't afford this to carry on, I need peace of mind when the thing is in the air.

Any help much appreciated still learning a lot.
Gareth
GaryBarry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 09:03 AM
  #2  
Dr1Driver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 3,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: radio glitching

Since it only glitches when the off-brand servo is plugged in, I'd say it's the servo. Does it glitch no matter what channel the suspect servo is plugged into, or is it just the aileron channel? Charge it up and plug in good servos. Wiggle all the connections. Sometimes a loose one will cause a glitch. Cycle everything several times to check for proper movement. Do a range check, in a plane with the engine running, if possible.
Dr1Driver is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service