RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Need help with setting Expo's

Reply

Old 04-01-2010, 05:22 PM
  #1  
weskel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
weskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Crestview, FL
Posts: 365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Need help with setting Expo's

Hello,

I was wondering what would be a good starting point for setting the expo on my 9CAP?

I fly a very touchy Kyosho Sukhoi, and some warbirds. I do have dual rates set but it still is touchy on landings.

Thanks


Weskel
weskel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 05:59 PM
  #2  
Dr1Driver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 3,770
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with setting Expo's

I'd start at full -100% (softest at center). If that's too soft, you can always turn it up.
Dr1Driver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:03 PM
  #3  
weskel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
weskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Crestview, FL
Posts: 365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with setting Expo's

Thanks for the info, excuse my ingnorance, but:

If it is set at -100% does that mean it is the softest it can be around center, so for example if I set it at -50% it would be more touchy?

I am just trying to get a handle on how expos work.

Also would it be a good idea to dial in expo on my trainer for teaching new pilots?

Thanks again.
weskel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:40 PM
  #4  
Campgems
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 4,465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with setting Expo's

Weskel, the 9C has a very good graph to show you what is going on with the expo. As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words.
Dial in the expo so the center is softer, IEmore stick movement to get more throw. Set both sides of the stick movement. For a really touchy plane, I'll dial in as much as 60%.

Note though that you mentioned touchy on landings, Here, you would probably want less expo as you don't have time for slow response. The key is almost no stick movement .

I learned that really soft response on landing caused me to use way more stick than I needed and setup an over control situation.

Some guys will just tap the sticks on landing, IE it starts to droup to the right, a quick bump of left aileron, Let it return to center before the plane is fully responded. If it needs more, another quick bump. This lets you correct, but not overcorrect.

All of this is easier said than done sometimes. I've found that onmy best landings, I'm almost froze on the sticks.

Don
Campgems is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:48 PM
  #5  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,383
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with setting Expo's

Start at 25 percent and adjust from there.

Maybe more on 3D planes or high rates
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 06:51 PM
  #6  
weskel
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
weskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Crestview, FL
Posts: 365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with setting Expo's

Thanks for all the responses, an earlier post stated setting them in the negative range (-), is that correct?
weskel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 07:02 PM
  #7  
Campgems
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Arroyo Grande, CA
Posts: 4,465
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with setting Expo's

Look at the graph and see what is happening.

Positive expo on one brand TX is negitive on another. Negitive on a Futaba 9C is softer in the center.

Don
Campgems is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 11:21 AM
  #8  
Texastbird
 
Texastbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 1,217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with setting Expo's

On similar planes on my 9C I usually wind up with somewhere between -25 and usually not more than -40 on the expo. Any more than that and the response is just too mushy for me. Its something that you just have to play with and get it set for your own taste and amount of surface deflection the plane has.
Texastbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 12:04 PM
  #9  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with setting Expo's

Futaba uses negative numbers.

I usually start at -35% and go from there
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 03:38 PM
  #10  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need help with setting Expo's

I don't like to use expo. You buy a tight deadband servo then screw it up with expo. It doesn't make sense to me.
The way expo works is it makes the center soft but then if you continue to put in more control suddenly you have more than you want. It can make a touchy airplane real touchy. Its better for beginners to just cut down the travel. Leave the expo to the experts that know how to use it
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service