RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

spektrum dx7 engine kill switch?

Reply

Old 04-20-2010, 09:42 PM
  #1  
shaggy48
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 224
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default spektrum dx7 engine kill switch?

How do you kill your engine with this radio?
shaggy48 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:12 PM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,396
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spektrum dx7 engine kill switch?

You can turn on ATR in the system menu, (Automatic Throttle Recovery)

Set your linkage up so that when the trim is centered (viewed on the pipper on the display) you have a good idle, and when the trim is full down the throttle is closed and the engine cuts.

Then, when you want to kill the motor hold down trim till the motor shuts off. Push the trim up one beep, ATR will return it all the way to the previous idle position.

You can also use a mix tied to a switch.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:26 PM
  #3  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spektrum dx7 engine kill switch?

If you use Programmable Mixer 5 or 6, you can set up a Throttle to Throttle mix and set the Offset parameter to -125. You assign this Mix to a Switch. It is much better than using the Throttle Trim. If you let go of the Throttle Trim, before you reach the bottom, it changes your Idle setting. Throttle Recover works, but you have to be careful or you are constantly resetting the Idle Trim. I like the Mix idea better.

I just read this on one of the RCU threads but i do not have the exact procedure at the moment
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 09:47 AM
  #4  
shaggy48
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 224
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spektrum dx7 engine kill switch?

Using the throttle trim is not fast enough and doesn't always go back exactly to the perfect throttle. Guess I'll have to try and program a switch. Why they didn't maintain the throttle cut button on the DX7 was an inconvenient decision and definitely something I'll be looking for as a feature of my next radio. Guess it's time to learn how to program the mix just to kill the engine.

Thanks for all the responses.
Shaggy
shaggy48 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 02:13 PM
  #5  
SeamusG
Senior Member
 
SeamusG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 3,919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: spektrum dx7 engine kill switch?

By choice I use the MIX/ Rudder D/R switch to control my throttle kill switch. With the switch in position 0 - normal throttle operation. With the switch in position 1 - the throttle is reduced 30%. If the throttle stick is at idle then 30% reduction closes the carb's throttle completely. I test this on each plane to ensure that I'm not binding the throttle servo and linkage.

A note:IFyou are breaking in a new engine ANDyou increase the idle to keep things from dying THEN when you hit the kill switch and you back off the throttle by 30% the engine MAYNOT die. Be prepared to use the trim button to back the throttle down to kill the engine. Just did that yesterday - just sayin' ...

The pictures:
pic 1 - MIX0 - normal operation (for all of my planes)
pic 2 - the DX7's monitor screen showing the servo arm position at idle
pic 3 - MIX1 screen showing the THRO -> THROmixing specification with the switch OFF
pic 4 - MIX1 - throttle kill - throttle is reduced by 30% - only kills when stick is at idle
pic 5 - monitor screen showing the throttle cursor has moved to the left 30%
pic 6 - MIX1 screen with switch ON

Note - when setting this up you must flick the swith to ON(1 position)to be able to set the percentage.

HTH,

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	db85309.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	203.0 KB
ID:	1422164   Click image for larger version

Name:	id96325.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	210.9 KB
ID:	1422165   Click image for larger version

Name:	sx63062.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	214.5 KB
ID:	1422166   Click image for larger version

Name:	fz74303.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	252.8 KB
ID:	1422167   Click image for larger version

Name:	al73019.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	191.2 KB
ID:	1422168   Click image for larger version

Name:	ul80614.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	198.6 KB
ID:	1422169  
SeamusG is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service