RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Changing RX crystals

Reply

Old 07-19-2003, 01:11 PM
  #1  
Bushpilot99
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Morgan, CO
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Changing RX crystals

I have 3 RX, All which are the same (Futaba FP-R127DF Duel Conversion) The one that I use most of the time runs on channel 24, the other 2 RX one has a 30 crystal, and one has a 50 crystal,Can I put a channel 24 in these other RX? What Im trying to do is have it where I can run most of my planes with the same radio. (Not at the same time)







Thanks Scott
Bushpilot99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 01:38 PM
  #2  
Highflight
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 844
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Changing RX crystals

It is generally accepted that there is a "high" and a "low" range of frequency crystals.
In other words you can switch the crystals in the lower half of the 72hz band between RX's that already have crystals in the same lower half, and the same goes for the upper half.

You can put a 24 in the 30 RX and go fly, but if you put a 24 in the 50 Rx, you would need to send the RX for retuning to match the low range crystal.

Highflight
Highflight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 02:33 PM
  #3  
Bushpilot99
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Morgan, CO
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Changing RX crystals

Thanks Highflight,
One more question, Can I get by with just sending in the RX , or do I have to send in the radio also?










Thanks Scott
"Bushwhackers"
Bushpilot99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2003, 11:23 PM
  #4  
Highflight
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 844
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Changing RX crystals

No, only the RX itself with the crystal installed is needed by the technician. Keep in mind that if you later want to change that same RX back to a low range crystal, it will have to be re-calibrated for the low range.

For the future, my personal suggestion is to take a look at Polk Hobbie's Synth receivers. At just $70, they can be set to fly on ANY of the available channels.

Highflight
Highflight is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service