RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba Gold Box

Reply

Old 05-16-2010, 07:12 AM
  #1  
Puff The Magic Dragon
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Puff The Magic Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vass, NC
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Futaba Gold Box

Can you put a 2.4 ghz module in the old Gold Boxes. Personally I think is one of the most rugged radios ever made. I'm not easy on my radios, they ride all over countyside in the floorboard of my truck, and never give any trouble.
Puff The Magic Dragon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 06:45 AM
  #2  
Texastbird
 
Texastbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 1,217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Gold Box

There are people "hacking" 2.4 modules in the older radios. If you do a web search on "2.4 hack" you should find some info on what others have been doing.
Texastbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 08:53 AM
  #3  
Bax
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 19,482
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Gold Box

Futaba's current frequency modules do not just plug into the old Futaba FG/K series of transmitters. The FG/K series has been too-long out of production. Even the current, "regular" 50/72/75 MHz modules will not fit those older units.
Bax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 07:07 PM
  #4  
tadawson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 669
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Gold Box

The more important question is are they electrically compatible? Housings can always be changed . . . circuitry is far more challenging . . . .

- Tim
tadawson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 12:55 AM
  #5  
ZAGNUT
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
ZAGNUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tel-aviv, ISRAEL
Posts: 2,635
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Gold Box

if the gold box in question has a removable module then yes, just about any new futaba style module will plug right in and work. of course the newer modules are smaller so you'll have to figure out a way to keep it from falling out of the over sized opening. wide velcro, duct tape, hot glue...anything should do, just make sure it's secure and try to keep it out of sight from all the naysayers...


dave
ZAGNUT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 09:13 AM
  #6  
rambler53
Senior Member
My Feedback: (494)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 1,437
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Futaba Gold Box

The components internal in the old gold radio are far from today's technology. These old radios have aged. The components in the circuits do dry out, especially capacitors, and they fail. As much as I like the old ones too, I can't risk using one with an expensive or large model and take the chance of a lost plane. You should abandon these as it's been around 25-30 years since they were made, like black and white TV.
rambler53 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service