RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Synthesized Radios

Reply

Old 07-23-2003, 07:10 PM
  #1  
beardking
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
beardking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Ok, I've got a question here. I've been seeing the new Royal Evo and Polk Tracker II radios and something makes me wonder. These radios allow you to choose which frequency you are going to fly on, which seems like a good thing. But, since you don't have a set frequency you can't really take a frequency pin from the board (or however your club does frequency control). So, say you decide to use channel 52, how does the person that drives up and unloads while you are out flying know that you are on 52? Or are you supposed to go get a different pin each time you decide to change your frequency?

I've also heard that these radios aren't sanctioned by the AMA because they don't have a set frequency, anyone heard that?
beardking is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:17 PM
  #2  
4*60
My Feedback: (41)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Shuswap, BC,
Posts: 1,749
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Better get the right pin every time at our club and events or you are dog meat.

PS: After reading later posts I realized that some people need smileys to indicate a joke. I also thought it was a joke but also an explanation at the same time. If my humour escapes some people, I hope they don't get ulcers or have a heart attack as a result. I will try not to be so funny in the future.
4*60 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:21 PM
  #3  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Yes you can choose the channel you use, but having done that, it's exactly the same as if you only had one channel. If you choose, say, channel 52, you use that channel in the same way as if you had no choice and Ch 52 was your only channel.

You still have to put your channel pin up, and others cannot then use it.

All the synthesiser does is allow you to use a channel you can specify.

Synthesisers are legal in the USA. What you can't do is change the crystal in your transmitter yourself, without then sending it off to the manufacturer who will fine tune it to that chosen channel.

Synthesisers do the fine tuning job for you.

-David C.
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:23 PM
  #4  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Originally posted by 4*60
Better get the right pin every time at our club and events or you are dog meat.
I think you'll find he needed some explanation, not a threat.

I could be wrong though . .

-DC
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:29 PM
  #5  
beardking
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
beardking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Thanks David, the explanation was definitely more useful than a threat.

Do these transmitters have some sort of fail safe to keep you from grabbing onto a channel that someone else is using at that moment?
beardking is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:36 PM
  #6  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Originally posted by beardking
Do these transmitters have some sort of fail safe to keep you from grabbing onto a channel that someone else is using at that moment?
Well, sort of.

Both the radios you mentioned have a scanner (std on the Tracker, and optional on the Multiplex) that tells you which channels are in use without the radio actually transmitting on any channel at the time.

You can then choose an empty channel, but there is nothing built in to stop you using one that is already in use, and therefore, I believe, becoming dog meat .

There's a special 'dog meat' option if you choose a channel already in use.



-David C.
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:41 PM
  #7  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

The Hitec Spectra system is a removeable module type and the freq is selected on two tiny slotted indented pots. The module must be removed to change and no chance of an accidental change while handeling the radio. I beleive Futabas system works similarly but not sure. I don,t know how the Trackers handels this.

The first synth tx to actually hit the market in the US was a Kraft radio sometime around the early eightys or thereabouts. It's freq was selected externally there was major political concern over this at the time and probably contributed to its failure in the marketplace.

John
JohnBuckner is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:48 PM
  #8  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default ]The Tracker will not let you turn on to a channel that is in use

There are basically two methods of frequency control.
One type is that you put your personal pin on the frequency you are going to use. It "may" be required that this pin also display the channel number to make sure it goes in the right place.
The other method requires the flier to remove the frequency pin from the board and place it on his TX. Some clubs require your AMA card be placed in the slot the pin was in.

I have the Tracker II and when using the second method at one club there is no problem. I just pick my frequency, remove the pin, place my AMA card in the slot, and go fly.

At the other club for now I just place a blank personal pin on the board on the channel I will use. But since I like to label my pins with the channel number you can see that I would need a bag full of different pins :stupid:

As a solution I am going to make a mini white board on one pin and use an erasable marker to indicate the channel .

[B]The Tracker will not let you turn on to a channel that is in use[B]
causeitflies is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:53 PM
  #9  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Originally posted by causeitflies
. But since I like to label my pins with the channel number you can see that I would need a bag full of different pins :stupid:

As a solution I am going to make a mini white board on one pin and use an erasable marker to indicate the channel .
I have chosen to use crystals in the receivers on channels 15, 51, 45 and 54 so I just have to swap two sets of numbers around on the pin flag.



-DC
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:54 PM
  #10  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

There is no module to remove in the Tracker II. All changes are done on the screen. So there are no switches or connections to wear out.
causeitflies is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:54 PM
  #11  
dant-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
dant-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 803
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

The Tracker II (Polk's entry into the synthesizer market) will not allow you to select and transmit on a frequency that is already being used. I tried it myself and the Tx simply will not select an in use channel.

The frequency selection in the Tracker II is software inside of the Tx and not external as with the HiTec Spectra (which I also happen to have with an Eclipse at this time). The Tracker II then records the channel you have selected with the aircraft number you have selected and it remains the specific channel for that aircraft until it is changed.

The Seeker II (Polk's synthesized receiver) also stores the channel you set until you reset it. The receiver is also software set and has no external setting devices.

I have no knowledge of the Multiplex radios but I do own a Tracker II Tx and 5 Seeker II Rx's.

Dan
dant-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:56 PM
  #12  
beardking
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
beardking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

So, if you have, say, the Multiplex radio, can you use it with receivers that have crystals, but still be able to use the synthesis function on the TX? (i.e. have 3 different planes with 3 different channels on the RX, but use only the one TX).
beardking is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:58 PM
  #13  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

The Tracker II (Polk's entry into the synthesizer market) will not allow you to select and transmit on a frequency that is already being used. I tried it myself and the Tx simply will not select an in use channel
Really? I didn't know that. That's pretty clever.

Hmm! that's another excuse for not buying one gone!

Oh well



David C.
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 07:59 PM
  #14  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Wow!! That's some really close posting times Wish I could type faster
causeitflies is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:01 PM
  #15  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Originally posted by beardking
So, if you have, say, the Multiplex radio, can you use it with receivers that have crystals, but still be able to use the synthesis function on the TX? (i.e. have 3 different planes with 3 different channels on the RX, but use only the one TX).
On those transmitters that have synthesisers (Some models of Hitec, Futaba, Multiplex Tracker etc) the synthesiser replaces the crystal in the transmitter. The receivers don't change.

-DC
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:03 PM
  #16  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Originally posted by causeitflies
Wow!! That's some really close posting times Wish I could type faster


Yeah. My typing is also slo.......................
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:05 PM
  #17  
beardking
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
beardking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Well, I appreciate everyone's input (well, almost everyone). Now I just need to convince my wife that I really do need to spend 500-600 bucks on a new transmitter even though I just got my current one for Christmas. Don't ya just love this hobby.
beardking is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:05 PM
  #18  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

My buddy also has a Tracker and the very first time he tried to use it he found that someone had left their radio on in the pits without the pin :stupid: The radio of course wouldn't let him use that channel.

Now if it could only ZAAPP someone turning on AFTER it's already on it would be a perfect world.
causeitflies is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:07 PM
  #19  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Tracker II is only $275 with the Seeker Rx
causeitflies is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:10 PM
  #20  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Originally posted by beardking
Well, I appreciate everyone's input (well, almost everyone). Now I just need to convince my wife that I really do need to spend 500-600 bucks on a new transmitter even though I just got my current one for Christmas. Don't ya just love this hobby.
Try here, if it helps your marital status:-

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LG4079&P=1

The Hitec Eclipse with Spectra module should give you all you want.

-DC
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:10 PM
  #21  
beardking
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
beardking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Yeah, but it's just so d*amn ugly. I know, it's not how good it looks but how good it works that matters, but it's really hard to convince myself to buy something that ugly.
beardking is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:15 PM
  #22  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which one?

They are both pretty ugly if you ask me. But I don't look at it while I fly and you can always hide it in a case.
causeitflies is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:19 PM
  #23  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Originally posted by beardking
Yeah, but it's just so d*amn ugly. I know, it's not how good it looks but how good it works that matters, but it's really hard to convince myself to buy something that ugly.
Are you talking about the transmitters, or is this another reference to your marriage?

Anyway, if its the transmitter thats ugly, you could always fly blindfolded. I fly better that way myself.

-DC
David Cutler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:22 PM
  #24  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

"On those transmitters that have synthesisers (Some models of Hitec, Futaba, Multiplex Tracker etc) the synthesiser replaces the crystal in the transmitter. The receivers don't change."

Polk's Seeker RX is also synthesized so it can change channels also. It will work with "ANY" FM TX. The Tracker will work with "ANY" FM RX.

Can you tell I'm impressed with mine?
causeitflies is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 08:24 PM
  #25  
beardking
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
beardking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC, OK
Posts: 925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Synthesized Radios

Ouch David, very ouch.
beardking is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service