RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Fly Helis with 9CAP ?

Reply

Old 07-27-2003, 06:00 AM
  #1  
johnhardy1
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hooterville, NC
Posts: 201
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Fly Helis with 9CAP ?

Im new to helis and Im thinking I might try one day. My understanding is that a helis thro stick is smooth, not ratcheted.
Seems to me that flying fixed wing without the ratcheted throttle wouldnt be that awful, in fact I might like it.
The only other difference I can see between the 9CHP and my 9CAP is that Ive heard the switches are placed differently.
Whats the deal, is there anyway that I'll be able to use my 9CAP to fly heli's one day ? Or, should I just plan to buy another radio ?

Thanks,
John
johnhardy1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 11:15 AM
  #2  
hroachen
Senior Member
 
hroachen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location:
Posts: 399
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Fly Helis with 9CAP ?

Other than a few switches on top being located differently and the throttle ratchet, the 9CAP is identical to the 9CAF in every way. It's easy to remove the throttle ratchet, and the switch placement is no big issue unless you're already accustomed to a certain way.

No need to buy another radio for helis.
hroachen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 09:41 PM
  #3  
Ironrod
Junior Member
 
Ironrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Winchester, KY
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fly Helis with 9CAP ?

I just took my 9CAP apart and removed the rachet. However, I noticed the throttle stick seems a little loose. I couldn't see a way to tighten it up. Any ideas?
Ironrod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 10:10 PM
  #4  
Volfy
Senior Member
My Feedback: (23)
 
Volfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fly Helis with 9CAP ?

The heli version too has a "ratchet", so to speak, in the TX. Unlike the airplane version, whose ratchet has an indent on it to catch the teeth on the gimble assembly, the heli version is smooth and only presses on the teeth to provide some resistance to movement of the stick. If you remove the ratchet in the airplane TX, you'll have to replace it with a smooth one, otherwise the stick will feel loose.

The ratcheted action in the airplane TX is mostly there to prevent movement in the throttle channel when you move the stick side to side.
Volfy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2003, 06:17 AM
  #5  
wyflyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Edmore, MI
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fly Helis with 9CAP ?

All you have to do to make the stick smooth is slip a piece of fuel tubing over the little piece of metal that engages the ratchet. It makes the stick smooth but it doesn't let the stick flop around.
wyflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2003, 07:39 AM
  #6  
Ironrod
Junior Member
 
Ironrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Winchester, KY
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Fly Helis with 9CAP ?

Cool. I don't know why I didn't think of that. Now I can fly my buddies heli once he gets his radio and a buddy cord. Thanks for the tip.
Ironrod is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service