RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

Reply

Old 07-27-2003, 06:20 AM
  #1  
lazoj
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cayucos, CA,
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

do they need to be discharged before they can be recharged? If so, what should be used for this process?
lazoj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 11:30 AM
  #2  
Mike Denest
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Mike Denest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

No. Battery cycling should be done when it warrants, like if you do not fly during the winter season. Charge the batteries, discharge then recharge once a month.

The better solution is to install a "trickle" device between the wall charger and connectors. The Ace Auto Add-A-Trickle will work fine. It's easy to install and is automatic. Once you have the batteries charged for the normal period (18 to 20 hours) the unit will automatically switch to a trickle current. Leave the radio connected until you go fly. After your flying session, recharge the radio normally and the unit will recharge then go into the trickle mode. This way your batteries will always be in top shape reqdy for the next flying session. FMI do an internet search for Red's R/C Battery Clinic. You will find all you answers there.
Mike Denest is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2003, 06:39 PM
  #3  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

The lower the trickle charge the better. It only needs to be a couple of ma's above the leakage current of the pack.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 12:49 AM
  #4  
BUGGIES_R_US
 
BUGGIES_R_US's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 3,342
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

Umm..I think your talking about NiMH?

NiCads have memory and they DO need to be discharged before recharging?!

On top of that, NiCads are capable of very high load rates..about one amp I think. That is one area where they excel. But I dont think its good to charge and discharge more than 3 times in a 24 hour period.
Ram
BUGGIES_R_US is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 03:53 AM
  #5  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

Yes, NiCd's suffer from a memory effect, but only if you repeatedly discharge them to the EXACT same point.

They also suffer from VOLTAGE DEPRESSION from being left on a charger after a full charge, and this is commonly called "memory" even though it isn't really a memory.

These issues have been repeatedly discussed in the Batteries & Chargers forum. I suggest you do a search there, and concentrate on the responses from Red Scholefield, the battery expert.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 03:54 AM
  #6  
BUGGIES_R_US
 
BUGGIES_R_US's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 3,342
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

Oh ok I'll go read up over there. Thanks for the info/link!!
Ram
BUGGIES_R_US is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 05:05 AM
  #7  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

Nicad's can generally be discharged at up to 10C (10 amps for a 1000mah battery) Nimh's generally 4C and Li-poly's generally 2C It's all dependant on the entire setup and exact brand of battery though.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 03:52 PM
  #8  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

Quite a bit of missleading info in the above. for the straight scoop check out www.batteryclinic.com and/or buchmann.ca/ . Poor or missinformation on NiCads is very rampant in these forums, not intentional I'm sure, just people who have received and are reiterating poor advice. When in doubt, go to the source i.e. the manufacturer or one of the two above sights.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 07:45 PM
  #9  
Peter Khor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

Couldn't find anything over at the batteryclinic site, only sales info? fwiw Battery mfg info over at:

http://www.sanyo.co.jp/energy/english/f6.htm
http://www.sanyo-energy-europe.com/frameset_sitemap.htm
http://www.panasonic.com/industrial/...oem/index.html

Over at the Panasonic site, there are some good general info on NiCad/NiMh that you can d/l.

You can also do a google search on "NASA" "NiCad" and "Memory" to dig up the various myths involved.

My usual routine is to discharge RX and other Nicad packs to .9V a cell every couple dozen of cycles (~2 times a flying season, starting and 3/4 way) and charge back up to determin capacity.
Peter Khor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 08:29 PM
  #10  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

Red used to have alot more info on his site (www.rcbatteryclinic.com), including info on NiCd memory / voltage depression. I don't know why he has removed it, but everything I have said has been agreed with by him at one time or another.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 01:59 PM
  #11  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

Just checked and all that info is still there and available. Just scan the left hand margin on the site and click on items of interest.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 08:51 PM
  #12  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do nicad rec. packs need to be discharged?

There used to be a section regarding NiCd memory - it seems to be gone.

Also, I corrected my earlier post - Red's website is www.rcbatteryclinic.com (not www.batteryclinic.com)
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service